64505 Routt County Rd. 129, Clark vicinity
National Register 8/7/2007, 5RT.438
Columbine was established in 1881 to provide housing and provisions for the nearby miners at Hahns Peak. James R. Caron emigrated from Canada to Columbine with his wife Martha in 1896. He constructed a post office, then purchased an existing store and moved its contents into his new Columbine Mercantile building in 1898. He served as Columbine’s postmaster for 31 years, as well as justice of the peace and coroner.
Columbine functioned as both a major way stop and a destination for visitors in the late 19th century. Miners, loggers, freight drivers, cattlemen and sheepmen came through for provisions, mail, a hot meal, temporary lodging and camaraderie. Recreational activities became a popular pastime as mining diminished, and Columbine attracted fisherman, hunters, trappers and outdoor enthusiasts. The population reached a peak of 68 in 1900 and rose again to 59 in 1930. At its height the town consisted of a general store and post office, saloon, several hotels and boarding houses, a blacksmith shop, assay office, mining company offices, a gas station, restaurants, and cabins.
The district contains representative examples of Pioneer Log construction associated with the isolated mining camps of the Colorado mountains from the early 1880s up through the mid-20th century. Builders used locally available logs and stone in the construction of the various buildings. The earliest were one-room peeled log cabins with notched corners and front-gabled roofs set on simple stone foundations. A later phase of building began with a change of ownership in 1936. This phase brought Rustic style cabins blending well with the natural landscape. (1975 photograph.) More information (PDF, 700 kb).
Hahn’s Peak Schoolhouse
Main St., Hahn’s Peak Village
National Register 2/15/1974, 5RT.72
Built in 1911, this simple wood frame rural schoolhouse continued to house classes during the fall semester until the mid-1960s. Listed under Rural School Buildings in Colorado Multiple Property Submission. (1996 photograph.)
Summit Creek Guard Station
Routt National Forest, Columbine and Clark vicinity
National Register 7/28/2004, 5RT.431
The Summit Creek Ranger Station, with its 1912 date of construction, represents the transition between the 1890-1910 pre-design phase and the 1911-1932 pre-Civilian Conservation Corps phase of Forest Service construction, exhibiting details and methods of both phases. The building is also associated with federal activity and conservation during the early development of the National Forest system, representing the shift in philosophy from one of custodianship to one of conservation of resources by placing the ranger/guard stations in the forests. This allowed rangers to react quickly to threats, conserving the resources entrusted to their care. More information (PDF, 725 kb).
State Register 12/12/2001, 5RT.1592
Leslie Kimsey established this ranch just above the Yampa River in 1917. By 1919, he had a modest craftsman style house and a large Gambrel roof barn to accommodate his farming and ranching operations. In 1933, Isadore Bolten purchased the ranch where he raised sheep and cattle, an unusual combination in the range war years, and grew hay. It continues to illustrate the important role that high country ranching played in the development of Routt County.
Dawson Carpenter Ranch
13250 W. US Hwy. 40
National Register 5/6/1998, 5RT.1207
The ranch has a long association with the agricultural development of the Yampa Valley. Beginning in 1902, the ranch was a major local producer of hay and livestock under the ownership of John Barkley "J.B." Dawson. Along with Charles Goodnight, Dawson was the first to trail cattle in 1859 from Texas to Colorado over what became known as the "Dawson Trail." The ranch is considered nationally significant for its association with Farrington Reed Carpenter. He managed the ranch from 1926 until 1946, at which time he purchased the property. Beginning in 1934, Carpenter served as the first director of the Federal Grazing Service, and his guidance laid the foundation for public domain land management which ended the era of free open range grazing in the West. The Bureau of Land Management recognizes Carpenter as its first director. (1995 photograph.)
300 W. Pearl St.
National Register 10/22/1992, 5RT.892
The Denver and Salt Lake Railroad’s arrival in Hayden in 1913 ended the community’s isolation from eastern Colorado population centers and economic markets. The railroad constructed the sturdy two story brick depot in 1918 to serve growing freight and passenger traffic. Although freight shipments continue through Hayden, passenger service ended in 1968. The depot now functions as a local museum. Listed under Railroads in Colorado, 1858-1948 Multiple Property Submission. (1992 photograph.)
Hayden Rooming House
295 S. Poplar St.
National Register 9/17/1999, 5RT.1361
Constructed in 1910, the 2½ story building is a well preserved example of ornamental concrete block construction. The property is also important for the role it played in the community’s commercial history. It is the lone survivor of the three buildings in Hayden that functioned as hotels during the first years of the 20th century. Listed under Ornamental Concrete Block Buildings in Colorado, 1900 to 1940 Multiple Property Submission.
Solandt Memorial Hospital
150 Jackson Ave.
National Register 8/10/2011, 5RT.513
The 1923 Solandt Memorial Hospital is significant for its long association as a public hospital for the town of Hayden and surrounding communities. Serving the community continuously from 1923 until 1964, the hospital served a vital need. When constructed and continuing through at least through the 1930s, the hospital was the largest and the only accredited hospital in northwestern Colorado as well as between Fort Collins and Salt Lake City. Additionally, it is architecturally important as a good example of a Late Nineteenth and Early Twentieth Century American Movements style building as applied to a block-plan hospital design. The square columns, modest ornamentation, stately porch, arched accents and flat brick are a few of the features of the style exhibited by the hospital. Further, it displays the national architectural trend in hospital design of the post World War I era, which emphasized a highly functional and technologically advanced interior to cater to the patients’ health while minimizing exterior ornamentation. Prominent Laramie, Wyoming, architect Wilbur A. Hitchcock, designed the hospital. Hitchcock planned and designed other hospitals along with many institutional buildings during his career. It is the only remaining intact block-plan type hospital design known to exist in Colorado that has minimal alterations, never had any additions or expansions, and continues to serve as a medical facility.
101-111 Moffat Ave.
National Register 6/7/1990, 5RT.364
Constructed in 1910 by the Bell brothers, Samuel and Edward, on a portion of their ranch property, the two-story wood frame building has housed a company store, a bank, and a doctor’s office in its first floor retail space. The second floor served as a small hotel/boarding house. The Bell Mercantile remains a mainstay business in Oak Creek and continues to stock general merchandise. (1989 photograph.)
Foidel Canyon School
Northwest of Oak Creek
National Register 5/9/1983, 5RT.192
Built circa 1923 during a period of rapid settlement in the area, the building is a late example of wood frame rural schoolhouse construction. Listed under Rural School Buildings in Colorado Multiple Property Submission. (1980 photograph.)
Chamber of Commerce Building
1201 Lincoln Ave.
National Register 4/16/2010, 5RT.2616
The 1960 Chamber of Commerce Building in Steamboat Springs is architecturally significant in the area of architecture as a superior local example of the Modern Movement’s Usonian design philosophy. Integrated into the surrounding landscape and oriented toward the nearby Soda Creek and Little Toots Park, the building embodies many of the defining characteristics of the design philosophy, including the use of natural materials, which help blend the building into the site, dominant horizontal lines, integrated windows, and an inverted gabled roof with wide overhanging eaves. Notable are two cottonwood trees extending through the porch floor and roof and incorporated into the overall design. Architect Eugene Sternberg designed the Chamber of Commerce Building as one of several commissions he received in the Steamboat Springs area. The building’s small-scale is unusual within the architect’s broad body of work, but typifies his interest in economical construction through its utilization of donated materials and volunteer labor.
Christian Science Society Building
641 Oak St.
National Register 8/22/2007, 5RT.1053
The 1934 log building is a good local example of Rustic style architecture. It embodies many of the defining characteristics of the design philosophy, including the use of native materials in its log construction and stone foundation, the multi-light windows, simple ornamentation, and log wall interior. The building is in harmony with its mountain setting, an important quality of naturalistic design encompassed in the Rustic style. More information (PDF, 896 kb).
1184 Crawford St.
National Register 8/7/2005, 5RT.473
The 1894 Crawford House is important for the local contributions of its original owners, James and Margaret Crawford. The couple was among the most influential pioneering families in northwest Colorado. The construction of this, their third home, demonstrated their faith in the permanence of Steamboat Springs. Further development of the community resulted from James Crawford’s involvement in many local and regional enterprises. The house is a rare local example of residential Romanesque Revival style architecture and the only residence within the city limits built entirely of native ashlar sandstone. (1985 photograph.) More information (PDF, 732 kb).
First National Bank Building (Rehder Building)
803-807 Lincoln Ave. & 57½ 8th St.
National Register 1/11/2001, 5RT.259
Constructed in 1905, the two-story commercial building is a rare local example of the Romanesque Revival style. The first floor walls are of heavy native sandstone, and the red brick walls of the second floor are accented with sandstone quoins. Round arches top the window and door openings of the first floor. A one-story stone addition at the rear dates from 1920. Located on a prominent downtown corner, the virtually intact building serves as a reminder of the successful banking operation it housed during an early period of economic prosperity in Steamboat Springs.
845 Howelsen Pkwy.
State Register 12/13/2000, 5RT.1048
Located adjacent the downtown area, Howelsen Hill is a highly visible geographic feature within the community. Encompassing approximately 40 acres, the district includes the portions of the hill’s north facing slope most closely associated with the history of skiing in Steamboat Springs. Since 1914, this important cultural landscape has evolved to meet the needs and desires of the community as well as developments within the worldwide sport of competitive ski jumping. Owned by the city since 1935, the hill also continues to serve as the location for the annual Winter Carnival and the wide variety of ski education programs operated in conjunction with the local school district. (ca. 2000 photograph.)
F.M. Light House
204 Park Ave.
State Register 3/9/1994, 5RT.480
The 1909 1½-story Edwardian Vernacular style wood frame residence has a steeply pitched cross gabled roof. There are three hipped roof porches with classical columns, and two historic barns are located on the property. The residence was built for the Francis Marion Light family. Light arrived in Steamboat Springs in 1905 and open a small retail store. By 1910, his general merchandise business had grown into one of the largest in the region. (1993 photograph.)
840 Lincoln Ave.
National Register 9/29/1995, 5RT.249
Constructed in 1908, the two-story Maxwell building has played an important role in the commercial and economic development of Steamboat Springs. It still houses the town’s longest continually operating drugstore. Constructed during a building boom before the arrival of the railroad, the Maxwell was one of the last buildings in town that used locally manufactured bricks.
33985 S. US Hwy. 40, Steamboat Springs vicinity
National Register 11/1/2007, 5RT.2389
The 1916 Mesa Schoolhouse, located south of Steamboat Springs, is an excellent local example of the early 20th century rural schoolhouse building type. Constructed as the Mesa District’s permanent school, the building reflects the development of the Yampa Valley and its commitment to education. In the south Yampa Valley area, Germans, French-Swiss, and Irish immigrants attended classes with children from older generation immigrant families. Like most rural schools, the Mesa Schoolhouse played a major role in the assimilation process. Although intended to provide a place for education for the children of the Mesa District, it also became the social center of the small agricultural community. School district consolidation closed the Mesa Schoolhouse in 1959. For the next 30 years the building served as a residential rental and the following decade as a “party place”.
The City of Steamboat Springs and local non-profit Historic Routt County! acquired the building and the small parcel of land with the assistance of the State Historical Fund in 1998. The property is associated with the Rural School Buildings in Colorado Multiple Property Submission. (2004 photograph.)
Perry-Mansfield School & Camp
40755 County Rd. 36
State Register 3/8/1995, National Register 7/14/1995, 5RT.976
Established in 1914, the school/camp is the oldest, continuously operating, modern dance camp in the United States. Charlotte Perry and Portia Mansfield, two Smith College graduates instrumental in pioneering theater and dance, founded the camp. (2005 photograph.)
Rabbit Ears Motel Sign
201 Lincoln Ave.
State Register 8/31/2006, 5RT.2296
The 1953 Rabbit Ears Motel Sign remains an enduring and established visual feature of the community and serves as a source of local identity. The large neon sign with its distinctive rabbit face survived periods of downtown “modernization” to become a much beloved local geographic landmark. (2001 photograph.) More information (PDF, 3.15 MB).
Routt County National Bank Building
802 Lincoln Ave.
National Register 5/20/2002, 5RT.242
Constructed in 1919 to house the expansion of the First National Bank, the building reflects the development of the commercial sector of Steamboat Springs and the economic ups and downs of Routt County during the first half of the 20th century. In 1938, the Routt County National Bank emerged as a survivor of the troubled economic times. While a variety of enterprises have occupied the first floor commercial spaces, the upper story continues to house the Steamboat Masonic Lodge. Located on a prominent downtown corner lot, the two-story brick and stone building underwent numerous alterations since its construction. During 2000-01, the removal of a circa 1980 stucco veneer and faux mansard roof took place as part of a rehabilitation project utilizing both federal tax credits and a State Historical Fund grant. (2003 photograph.)
302 11th Street
National Register 12/7/2011, 5RT.2624
The 1958 Steamboat Apartments in Steamboat Springs are architecturally significant as a superior local example of the Modern Movement’s Usonian style and as an excellent example of architect Eugene Sternberg’s body of work. Integrated into the surrounding landscape with expansive views oriented toward the Old Town area and south Yampa Valley, the complex embodies many of the defining characteristics of the Usonian design philosophy, including the use of natural materials which help blend the building into the site, dominant horizontal lines, integrated windows, and a distinctive butterfly roof with wide overhanging eaves. Additionally, the Steamboat Apartments evince the local community’s long-term association with architect Eugene Sternberg, a master of mid-twentieth century regional architecture. Sternberg’s personal focus on socially involved and affordable construction throughout his career is evident in his design for the Steamboat Apartments. (2004 photograph.) More information (PDF, 1.5MB)
Steamboat Laundry Building
127-131 11th St.
National Register 8/10/2007, 5RT.255
The 1910-20 building was part of the early commercial development of Steamboat Springs. The firm played an important role in fostering the town’s development through service industries. The 1910 construction and circa 1920 expansion reflect Steamboat’s increasing and prospering population, as well as the community’s economic success during the first two decades of the 20th century. The building is a good example of Twentieth-Century Commercial style architecture as it appeared in northwest Colorado. (2007 photograph.) More information (PDF, 260 kb).
Steamboat Springs Depot
39265 County Rd. 33B
National Register 12/20/1978, 5RT.73
David Moffat’s Denver, Northwestern and Pacific Railway reached Steamboat Springs in 1909, thus opening up an important rail link between the community and Colorado’s Eastern Slope markets. Denver architect Frank Edbrooke designed the two story building which included a passenger section, with waiting rooms and station office below upper level living quarters, and a long freight and baggage extension to the west. The depot closed when passenger service ended in 1968. Listed under Railroads in Colorado, 1858-1948 Multiple Property Submission. (ca. 2000 photograph.)
Steamboat Springs Downtown Historic District
Lincoln Ave. roughly bounded by 5th to 11th Sts.
National Register 7/11/2014, 5RT.3180
The Steamboat Springs Downtown Historic District, the center of the business district of the original town site established in 1884, is significant for its long association of providing the residents of Steamboat Springs and surrounding areas with goods and services for over 127 years. The buildings and objects within the area centered around Lincoln Avenue (U.S. Highway 40) reflect the development of the community and its growth and transformation into Yampa Valley’s regional hub. The district comprises approximately six city blocks, which has a total of fifty-two resources, thirty-six of which are considered contributing. Three buildings are individually listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Approximately forty percent of buildings within the district were constructed during the decade of the train’s arrival in anticipation of growth (1900-1909) or in the decade immediately following (1910-1920). (2012 photograph.) More information (PDF, 1.77 MB)
Rock Creek Stage Station / Gore Pass Stage Station
Routt National Forest Rd. # 206
National Register 10/21/1982, 5RT.91
A circa 1880 two-story log building remains on the property. The station served the first mail route into the Yampa Valley which was established in 1878. The difficulty of transportation in this isolated region made the presence of the station an important factor in the settlement of the area.
Antler Cafe & Bar
40 & 46 Moffat Ave.
State Register 3/11/1998, 5RT.1254, National Register 5/27/2014
The circa 1903/1904 Antlers Café and Bar in Yampa was initially listed in the Colorado State Register of Historic Properties on March 11, 1998. Antlers is locally significant under Commerce for the period 1904 to 1964 as the main stopping place along the historic road that is now known as the Flat Tops Scenic Byway as well as a long-time community establishment for food and drink. The building is further locally significant architecturally for the period 1904, when it was constructed, to 1941, the date of the last significant modification, the addition of a small storage shed to the south. Antlers Café and Bar is an excellent intact example of a one-story false front vernacular wood frame commercial building with a decorative cornice and large storefront windows. Historically, the property, along with the adjacent Antlers Hotel, destroyed by fire in 1952, served as the main stagecoach stop between Wolcott and Steamboat Springs between 1904 and 1908. The property’s evolution from saloon to pool hall, bar with gambling, and, finally, to café and bar mirrored the times and met the changing needs of the community. Mike and Emily Benedick purchased the property and business from Mike’s brother-in-law in 1937, operating it until 1996. By 1940, they completed several additions to the original building to provide living quarters for their growing family. In 1997, two old college friends purchased and revived the business as a gathering place for the community. They made minimal upgrades to the plumbing and electrical systems and to the kitchen. The property compares favorably with other false front commercial buildings remaining in Yampa. Of those extant, Antlers, the National Register-listed Bell & Canant Mercantile (also known as Crossan’s M & A Market), and Montgomery’s Grocery are the most intact examples of the type. More information (PDF, 67.48 kb).
Bell & Canant Mercantile – Crossan’s M & A Market
101 Main Street
National Register 12/26/2012, 5RT.3120
Bell & Canant Mercantile - Crossan’s M & A Market is significant for its long association as a general mercantile from 1903 through 1964, always providing a wide variety of meat, groceries, dry goods, clothing and farm supplies to the residents of Yampa and the surrounding areas. The building is also architecturally significant as an excellent example of a two-story False Front commercial building type with a pedimented gable in the parapet. Character-defining features of this building type exhibited by the mercantile include a front-gabled roof, main facade parapet extending above the roof, rectangular plan, and wood-frame construction. Less common for the False-Front commercial building type is the two-story version. More information (PDF, 1.39 MB).
22190 County Rd. 13
State Register 9/8/2004, 5RT.1401
The Boor-Redmond Ranch played a significant role in the development of farming and ranching in Routt County. It is an intact agricultural complex in continuous use since circa 1890 whose buildings have been adapted to meet changing ranch needs. The Redmond Ranch, more than any other ranch in the community, tells the story of agriculture in southern Routt County. (2000 photograph.) More information (PDF, 1.14 MB).
12888 County Rd. 15
National Register 5/8/1998, 5RN.529
The homestead includes a remarkably intact collection of log buildings dating from the mid-1870s. Of particular significance is the two-story log house. Such houses are rare in any condition, but the Keck house is especially noteworthy for the quality of its construction and its high degree of integrity. The barn also exhibits a high degree of craftsmanship for its location and period of construction.
St. Francis of Assisi Mission Church
Del Norte vicinity
State Register 3/13/2002, 5RN.532
Believed to have been built in 1881, the building is an unusual example of an Hispanic adobe church with a cruciform plan and an apse. The church and the adjacent cemetery are important for their association with the state’s ethnic heritage, specifically the Hispanos who settled the San Luis Valley. (2001 photograph.) More information (PDF, 68 kb).
Off US Hwy. 160
National Register 2/4/1985, 5RN.401
Constructed in 1924, for private access to the Sutherland Ranch east of Del Norte, the bridge consists of a rigid-connected, six-panel timber Warren pony truss, with verticals at all panel points, and a log kingpost pony truss approach. The use of timber represents an unusual adaptation of the Warren truss. Listed under Highway Bridges in Colorado Multiple Property Submission.
Off US Hwy. 160
National Register 2/4/1985, 5RN.400
The bridge was constructed in 1924 to access what was then the Wheeler Ranch east of Del Norte. Featuring a rigid-connected, three-panel timber/steel Howe pony truss, the bridge is one of the longest and oldest examples of the Howe configuration. Listed under Highway Bridges in Colorado Multiple Property Submission.
650 Columbia St.
State Register 4/13/1994, 5RN.384
The two-story red brick and stucco building is an important example of early community planning and development. Recognizing the need for a first-class hotel to insure the community’s future economic survival and growth, local leaders brought in an experienced developer from Kansas to build and operate the hotel. It is composed of three major sections: the original 1874 hotel, the 1882 Windsor Block, and the 1888 Foote Block. (ca. 1999 photograph.)
901 Acequia Dr.
State Register 6/11/2003, 5RN.823
Built in 1885, the Stick style house was one of the earliest residences constructed in the Monte Vista area. Chauncey S. Aldrich, one of the original founders of the town - which was first called Henry - had the house built for his family. As town manager and a publisher of one of the earliest newspapers, Aldrich set the temperate tone for the early settlement of the town. (2002 photograph.) More information (PDF, 64 kb).
120 Jefferson St.
State Register 3/8/1995, National Register 4/14/1995, 5RN.513
The 1919 library, designed by Denver architect John J. Huddart in the Colonial Revival style, is one of 36 Colorado public libraries funded by wealthy industrialist and philanthropist, Andrew Carnegie. The building represents the community’s longstanding support of its public library which began in 1885 in the back of the Fassett Department Store and led to the erection of a small stone library building in 1895. (ca. 2000 photograph.)
Central School Auditorium & Gymnasium
612 1st Ave.
National Register 3/14/1996, 5RN.521
A 1938 project supported by the school district, town leaders and a WPA grant resulted in a building used for school and sports functions as well as an auditorium for public gatherings. It is the largest auditorium in the San Luis Valley that continues to serve in the same capacity for which it was built. It is a unique Monte Vista example of the work of prominent architect Charles E. Thomas incorporating Mission, Spanish Colonial Revival, and Romanesque elements. (1938 photograph.)
El Monte Hotel (Monte Villa Inn)
925 1st Ave.
National Register 6/7/1990, 5RN.430
In 1930, this small rural community constructed the $112,000 hotel, which became a center for community activities. Designed by E. Floyd Redding, the three-story building shows influences of the Mission and Pueblo Revival styles with its stuccoed exterior, tile roof, curvilinear parapet walls, wooden lintels, and decorative vigas. It represents a distinctive architectural style prevalent in hotel construction throughout the pre-World War II southwest. The intent was to build a "Fred Harvey" style hotel with all the modern conveniences, including Monte Vista’s first elevator. (2000 photograph.)
Fassett Department Store
102 Adams St.
State Register 8/11/1993, 5RN.486
The store was the first, largest, and longest surviving retail establishment in Monte Vista. Widow Lillian Loretta Silsby Taylor founded the store in a small wood frame building in 1881 and, with her new husband Charles Fassett, erected this stone replacement building in 1898. The couple supplied nearby farmers and miners with groceries, furniture, and a complete line of dry goods. The store continued under Fassett family management for ninety-nine years. (1999 photograph.)
First Methodist Episcopal Church
215 Washington St.
State Register 6/11/2003, National Register 10/11/2003, 5RN.782
The walls of the 1922 church are purple tapestry brick with a salt glaze, a firing and glazing method not used since the 1940s. No other building constructed of this unusual material has been found in the town of Monte Vista or the San Luis Valley. While the form and detailing belie its religious function, the building’s massing attests to its Akron Plan interior. The building has also been host to a wide variety of community activities over the years, playing an important role in the social history of Monte Vista. (2005 photograph.) More information (PDF, 80 kb).
Monte Vista Cemetery Chapel
4927 County Rd. 27
State Register 8/11/1999, 5RN.646
Constructed in 1912, the chapel is an unusual expression of the Craftsman Style, a style not well represented in Monte Vista or Rio Grande County. The chapel also represents the work of Denver architect George Harvey. (ca. 2000 photograph.)
Monte Vista Downtown Historic District
National Register 11/1/1991, 5RN.484
Monte Vista, Spanish for "mountain view," was incorporated in 1886. Shortly thereafter, commercial construction moved west along Main Street. The availability of locally quarried stone resulted in the presence of numerous expert contractors and stonemasons able to work the distinctive volcanic rock. The buildings within the district were constructed between 1889 and 1921 and remain as good examples of late 19th and early 20th century commercial architecture. (2005 photograph.)
Monte Vista Library (Monte Vista Historical Society)
110 Jefferson St.
National Register 6/30/1995, 5RN.514
Now the home of the local historical society, this small stone building was constructed in 1895. The Women’s Literary Club was organized on August 4, 1884 for the purpose of establishing a circulating library. Initially books were kept in the back of the Fassett General Store, with Lillian L. Fassett serving as the first librarian. On January 18, 1887, the Monte Vista Library Association was incorporated, and the women of the association undertook a variety of fundraising activities to finance construction of the Monte Vista Library. Measuring just 16 by 22 feet, the simple flat roofed building housed the town’s library until the completion of the Carnegie Public Library in 1919. (1895 photograph.)
Monte Vista Post Office & Federal Building
Washington & 2nd Ave.
National Register 1/22/1986, 5RN.21
Constructed in 1933, the building remains a dominant structure in Monte Vista and is the community’s finest example of Beaux-Arts-influenced architecture. Listed under U.S. Post Offices in Colorado Thematic Resource. (1983 photograph.)
Sargent Consolidated School District
7090 N. County Rd. 2E, Monte Vista vicinity
State Register 12/13/2000, 5RN.689
The school district is comprised of 14 buildings, seven of which were constructed between 1917 and 1921. The two largest are the 1917 elementary school and the 1921 high school, both designed by the prominent architect John J. Huddart. These brick buildings have grown in size with numerous additions. For example, a 1937 gymnasium, once a separate building, is now part of the high school. This district is unusual as it was designed to be a complete facility, a "plant that contained every branch of school work." In addition to the two schools, the complex includes several bungalows that originally served as men’s and women’s teacherages, a superintendent’s house, and a duplex for the families of the janitor and the bus mechanic. Serving a 100-square-mile area, this group of buildings reflects the spread and influence of formal education on the development of rural communities. (2005 photograph.)
State Soldiers’ & Sailors’ Home
3749 Sherman Ave.
State Register 9/13/1995, 5RN.441
Founded in 1891, the State Soldiers’ and Sailors’ Home is the oldest veterans’ home in Colorado. The self-sufficient complex offered housing, recreational and religious facilities, and medical care. The property includes a collection of buildings encompassing the 100 year evolution of the facility as well as a cemetery, the final resting place of veterans who served from the Civil War through Vietnam. (Residential units, 2005 photograph.)
Creede Branch, Denver & Rio Grande Western Railroad
South Fork to Creede
National Register 11/27/2002, 5RN.515.1 / 5ML.273.8
The 22.8-mile long Creede Branch originated significant rail traffic from the railroad’s nearby gold and silver mining operations. Although the complete rail line dates to 1891, the conversion of the branch from narrow to standard gauge dates from 1902. The branch line survives as a virtually intact example of early 20th century railroad construction. It retains its 1902 alignment, railbed and jointed rail with ties, as well as the contemporary bridges, two depots, water tank, and related track-side setting. Listed under Railroads in Colorado Multiple Property Submission.
Denver & Rio Grande Railroad South Fork Water Tank
Near US Hwy. 160 at South Fork
State Register 3/13/2002, National Register 10/15/2002, 5RN.352
The 1881 tank provided water for countless steam locomotives from its construction in 1881 until the end of steam locomotive operations in 1956. Tanks of identical design, materials and construction were built throughout the D&RG system in the last two decades of the 19th century. Only a handful of these structures survive on the D&RG, and this tank is the only surviving example along the 66-mile Creede Branch. Listed under Railroads in Colorado Multiple Property Submission. (2001 photograph.)
Denver & Rio Grande Western Railroad Engine No. 40
Creede Branch, Denver & Rio Grande Western Railroad
State Register 8/14/2002, 5RN.781
This 1942 railroad locomotive is the oldest surviving diesel-electric locomotive to have operated on the D&RGW system. Designed and built by the General Electric Company for rail yard switching operations, No. 40 served successfully on the D&RGW from 1942 until its retirement in 1954. The locomotive was then sold to the Great Western Sugar Company where it continued to operate well into the 1990s. (2002 photograph.)
29431 West US Hwy. 160
National Register, 10/21/2008, 5RN.1043
The 1927 Spruce Lodge conveys the important role played by the Galbreath Tie and Timber Company in the existence and longevity of the South Fork community. The Galbreath Hotel formed an important part of the commercial complex built by brothers Charles and O.S. Galbreath that served as the early basis of the South Fork economy. Counted among Colorado’s original lumber barons, the Galbreaths utilized the hotel to conduct business, and once deals were made, they utilized the Denver and Rio Grande Western Railroad to ship their lumber throughout the San Luis Valley and the western United States. In addition to the operation of the Rustic-style hotel, the Galbreaths shipped produce and owned a general merchandise store. The town owes much of its early prosperity to the brothers and their business enterprises. (2008 photograph.) More information (PDF, 472 kb).
40905 County Rd. 17, Buford vicinity
State Register 2/24/2006, 5RB.4419
The 1902 Buford School has long been the educational center of the rural area near Buford and served as the local school until consolidation in 1952. Its intact setting and associated privy helps to convey the rural school experience of many children in northwestern Colorado. For several generations, the building stood at the core of the White River Valley’s daily life, and it continues to serve this rural community as a gathering and learning place. The Buford School is a highly recognizable valley landmark. The property is associated with the Rural School Buildings of Colorado Multiple Property Submission. (1977 photograph.) More information (PDF, 1.03 MB).
Battle of Milk River Site / Thornburgh
Thornburgh Rd., 17 miles northeast of Meeker
National Register 8/22/1975, 5RB.982
In September of 1879, Ute warriors skirmished here with troops under the command of Major T.T. Thornburgh as the troops entered the Ute Reservation on an expedition from Fort Steele, Wyoming to the White River Agency in northwestern Colorado. Located in the remote Milk Creek Valley, the battle site covers approximately 1,600 acres. Portions of a historic wagon road remain visible.
Duck Creek Wickiup Village
36 miles south of Meeker
National Register 11/20/1975, 5RB.53
The site is important for its use by Utes well into the late 19th century during their annual fall and winter gathering of pinyon nuts in the surrounding area.
Coal Creek School
617 Cty. Rd. 6
National Register, 7/18/2014, 5RB.3575
The 1892 Coal Creek School is a good example of a one-room rural schoolhouse that has also served as a community gathering space and polling place for several decades. The coal shed/privy and horse shed remain on the property. Although the original cupola was removed in 1948 when classes were discontinued, the school is still recognizable as such and meets the registration requirements of the Rural School Buildings in Colorado Multiple Property Documentation Form. (2013 photograph.) More information (PDF, 1.17 MB).
Hay’s Ranch Bridge
County Rd. 127
National Register 2/4/1985, 5RB.2376
The M.J. Patterson Contracting Company of Denver completed this pin-connected, six-panel steel Pratt pony truss in 1901. It is one of Colorado’s earliest state-funded vehicular bridges and one of the oldest roadway trusses in northwestern Colorado. Its slightly bowed top chord represents an unusual modification of the Pratt pony truss. Listed under Highway Bridges in Colorado Multiple Property Submission.
560 Main St.
National Register 5/7/1980, 5RB.985
Constructed in 1896, this two-story brick building reflects the characteristics of commercial structures built in small western towns during the late 19th and early 20th centuries. (1997 photograph.)
I.O.O.F. Lodge – Valentine Lodge No. 47
400 Main St.
National Register 3/19/2014, 5RB.2245
The 1897 I.O.O.F. Lodge – Valentine Lodge No. 47 provided an important social venue, not only to the I.O.O.F. Lodge members with various assistance, but also to the community and various organizations. Local engineer Herman Pfeiffer designed the architecturally significant Late 19th and Early 20th Century Revival style building. The Lodge used the upper floor while the lower floor was leased to merchants, a government office and for school classes at one time. A large dance floor and community room also existed on the first floor where many community dances, dinners, and other events took place. The community room served as a roller skating rink in the 1940s – 1950s. Mountain Valley Bank added a drive-up canopy in 2004 and converted the first floor into a bank. (2013 photograph.) More information (PDF, 3.80 MB).
J.W. Hugus Company Building / A. Oldland Building
594 Main St.
State Register 12/11/1991, 5RB.2242
The two-story brick building was constructed in 1911 to house the Meeker operations of J.W. Hugus & Co. Founded by J.W. Hugus in 1877, the company operated numerous general and dry goods stores in southern Wyoming and western Colorado. The building was designed by the prominent Denver architectural firm of Fisher and Fisher. When Hugus decided to liquidate his assets in 1919, the building was purchased by the retailing firm of A. Oldland and Company. (1996 photograph.)
Rio Blanco County High School
555 Garfield St.
State Register 3/10/1993, 5RB.2667
The 1924 two-story building of rough-cut thinly coursed local sandstone includes a gymnasium wing extending from the rear of the rectangular classroom portion. The floor plan is typical of secondary educational facilities built during the period. Designed by noted architect Robert K. Fuller, the building served as the county’s only high school facility from 1924 until 1951. (1992 photograph.)
St. James Episcopal Church
368 4th St.
National Register 3/30/1978, 5RB.983
Constructed in 1890, this stone building was the first church in Meeker and one of the oldest Episcopal churches in Colorado. The main entrance is topped by a unique bell tower faced with wood shingles. (2000 photograph.)
Cañon Pintado Historic District
Colo. Hwy. 139
National Register 10/6/1975, 5RB.984
Because of the arid nature of the area, the archeological sites within the district are well preserved. Early pictographs and accompanying cultural material represent the eastern periphery of the Fremont culture, which developed out of Utah between AD 800 and 1150. (1996 photograph.)
Carrot Men Pictograph Site
Southwest of Rangely
National Register 8/22/1975, 5RB.106
The cliffs above this prehistoric campsite retain rock art typical of the Fremont people who resided in Utah and central and western Colorado from AD 800 to 1150. (ca. 1996 photograph.)
National Register 8/27/1980, 5RB.820
This repeatedly utilized cultural site has the potential to yield important information about prehistoric land use patterns and population movements between core and marginal use areas. (1978 photograph.)
Fremont Lookout Fortification Site
National Register 11/20/1974, 5RB.344
The lookout is on the eastern periphery of the Fremont cultural area which was occupied from AD400 until AD1150 by agricultural peoples who cultivated corn, beans and squash. The Fremont people built the stone lookout to defend their fields and hunting areas, and it is the only known example of such a defensive structure in Colorado.
Pyramid Guard Station
County Rd. 8, Yampa vicinity
National Register 1/10/2008, 5RB.2882
United States Forest Service (USFS) administrative sites like the Pyramid Guard Station represent the evolution of the agency’s mission from basic custodianship to extensive resource management and conservation. This shift manifested itself in the placement of ranger/guard stations within the forests, allowing rangers to react quickly to resource threats. The Pyramid buildings represent the 1930s Civilian Conservation Corps / USFS ethics of conservation, efficiency and working for the public good. Begun in 1934 as one of the first CCC-built complexes in the state, Pyramid is an excellent example of the kind of work done by the CCC in the national forests during the Great Depression. The dwelling, combination building, barn, blacksmith shop and wood shed typify administrative buildings of the USFS Rocky Mountain Region during the CCC era and are excellent examples of Rustic style architecture. The buildings exhibit key style characteristics such as log walls, overhanging eaves with exposed rafters, small paned windows, and the use of local materials in construction. The buildings reflect a local manifestation of a regional style mandated by the USFS for rural areas. (2005 photograph.) More information (PDF, 1.55 MB).
Douglas Crossing Bridge
County Rd. 28
National Register 2/4/1985, 5PW.44
Constructed in 1936 of locally quarried stone by an eight-man Works Progress Administration crew, this filled arch was faced with rusticated stone and features six, 14-foot span, semicircular arches springing from battered piers. It served as an important crossing for the nearby agricultural community. The property is associated with the Highway Bridges in Colorado and the New Deal Resources on Colorado’s Eastern Plains Multiple Property Submissions. (2005 photograph.)
US Hwy. 385, Granada vicinity
National Register 10/15/2002, 5PW.114
Designed by the Colorado Department of Highways, fabricated by Burkhardt Steel Company, and constructed by C.L. Hubner Company, the 1949 steel stringer bridge runs for 423 feet across the Arkansas River. It was one of several bridges constructed over the river during the 1930s and 1940s that replaced timber or steel trusses constructed between 1890 and 1910. Consisting of five spans, the longest of which extends 90 feet, the bridge is notable for its relatively long spans and excellent state of preservation. Listed under Highway Bridges in Colorado Multiple Property Submission. (1999 photograph.)
Granada Relocation Center / Camp Amache
Approximately 1 mile southwest of Granada
State Register 3/9/1994, National Register 5/18/1994, National Historic Landmark, 1/16/2009, 5PW.48
The site is nationally significant as one of ten camps which housed Japanese Americans from 1942 to 1945 following their forced removal from the West Coast by military authorities. More than ten thousand persons passed through the camp which at its peak contained 7,318 Japanese Americans, nearly all of whom were former California residents and two-thirds of whom were United States citizens. Under a presidential executive order, the forced "evacuation" of Japanese Americans was justified on the basis of "military necessity" in the months following Japan’s attack on Pearl Harbor and the professed inability of the military to gauge the loyalty of individual Japanese Americans. (1942 photograph.) More information (PDF, 12.1 MB).
For information about the State Historical Fund’s participation in the preservation of this property see the Project Snapshot.
State Register 3/13/1996, 5PW.74
The circa 1938 gymnasium is associated with New Deal programs in Prowers County. The building is the only example of Works Progress Administration construction in Hartman and one of only a few such projects in the county. Its use as a community center continues to contribute to the social history of Hartman.
Holly City Hall
119 E. Cheyenne St.
State Register 6/11/2003, National Register 10/11/2003, 5PW.175
The 1938 Holly City Hall held the town’s police and fire departments, library, and a multi-use community room. The Holly City Hall served effectively for over sixty years as an important center of town life. The Depression-era Works Progress Administration (WPA) used local labor and materials to construct the hall as a town sponsored project. The building typifies the simple but dignified designs used by the WPA for city hall and courthouse construction. The property is associated with the New Deal Resources on Colorado’s Eastern Plains Multiple Property Submission. (2001 photograph.)
North Main St.
National Register 4/24/2007, 5PW.268
Built under the auspices of the Works Progress Administration, the building is associated with the federal relief programs administered in Eastern Colorado during the Great Depression. Providing employment and increased job skills for the area’s unemployed, construction began on the Holly Gym in 1936 utilizing a locally quarried chalk-like stone - Niobrara. The WPA created an opportunity to provide the town with a more “progressive” educational facility. This was the first school gymnasium in Holly, which not only functioned for athletic education, but was also used for music classes and the hot lunch program. This building was the community’s first modern recreational facility. The Holly Gym reflects the functional design and use of local materials that is characteristic of WPA buildings. Some of the largest examples of New Deal resources in eastern Colorado were the prominent auditorium/gymnasium buildings. The property is associated with the New Deal Resources on Colorado’s Eastern Plains Multiple Property Submission. (2005 photograph.) More information (PDF, 1.14 MB).
Holly SS Ranch Barn
407 W. Vinson
National Register 2/25/2004, 5PW.172
The 1879 Holly SS Ranch Barn was part of the earliest period of settlement and development of Prowers County by farmers and ranchers. The SS Ranch with one of the earliest and largest cattle ranches in the region. Hiram Holly established the ranch at a time when Colorado’s early dependence on mining ventures increasingly gave way to agricultural development. The ultimate inception of the town of Holly was an outgrowth of the Holly SS Ranch. The barn is one of the earliest and most well preserved stone barns in southeast Colorado, displaying the construction techniques, architectural details, and material usage of the pioneering period in Colorado. Native stone construction constitutes an important late 19th and early 20th century building tradition in southeastern Colorado. (2002 photograph.)
Holly Santa Fe Depot (Town Hall)
302 S. Main St.
National Register 7/28/1995, 5PW.73
The Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe Railroad built the brick second-generation depot in 1912. The Mission Revival style building was a combination-type depot, handling both passengers and freight. It is one of only four in Colorado possessing the Mission Revival style detailing that became a trademark of the Santa Fe. The community converted the building in 1999 to serve as its town hall. The property is associated with the Railroads in Colorado, 1858-1948 Multiple Property Submission. (1995 photograph.)
Alta Vista School
8785 Road LL, vicinity of Lamar
State Register 6/9/1999, 5PW.42
Constructed in 1917, the two-level red brick building remains a good local example of a rural school district’s commitment to provide the space required to offer its students a broader educational program than found in the one-room building it replaced. The building has remained in continuous use as a public school since its construction and now houses the Alta Vista Charter School. (1999 photograph.)
Davies Hotel / Payne Hotel
122 N. Main St.
National Register 10/19/1978, 5PW.25
The Davies Hotel is typical of the numerous small town hotels whose location near the railroad depot provided them with a steady stream of lodgers. The builders of the 1902 hotel utilized locally quarried sandstone for the exterior walls. (1977 photograph.)
Lamar Post Office
300 S. 5th St.
National Register 1/22/1986, 5PW.43
The property has been associated with agriculture in the Lamar area since Claus Paulsen established the farm in 1901. Between 1910 and 1915, Paulsen represented the Payne Investment Company of Omaha, Nebraska, and in this capacity escorted would-be homesteaders from the Midwest to new homes in southeast Colorado. The farmhouse is a good local example of the Foursquare-type of dwelling. The barn is an important surviving example of a once popular but increasingly rare type of wood frame gambrel-roofed barn, a type often replaced by more modern agricultural buildings or lost with the transformation of agricultural lands to other uses. (1999 photograph.)
Petticrew Stage Stop
State Register 3/8/2000, National Register 8/24/2000, 5PW.62
In the early 1890s, the John L. Petticrew family settled in southern Prowers County and operated a stage stop between Lamar and Springfield. The house, barn and associated rock walls are good, intact examples of sandstone construction utilizing locally quarried stone as designed and executed by the property owner. The barn is also a rare surviving example of a stone bank barn. The complex is notable as a cultural landscape in which the sandstone buildings and retaining walls appear to spring organically from the natural shelter and seclusion of the creek bottom. The recessed location blocks views of modern intrusions and enhances the historical feeling of the complex as an isolated stop on the Lamar to Springfield stage. (1986 photograph.)
Prowers County Building / Prowers County Courthouse
301 S. Main St.
National Register 9/21/1981, 5PW.27
The 1929 courthouse served as the center of county political and governmental activity. Denver architect Robert K. Fuller designed the elegant Neo-classical building constructed of Indiana limestone. The entrance and main corridor frieze feature panels displaying carved depictions of the registered cattle brands in Prowers County at the time of the building’s construction. (1981 photograph.)
Prowers County Welfare Housing
800 E. Maple St.
National Register 12/22/2009, 5PW.259
The Prowers County Welfare Housing is important for its association with President Franklin Roosevelt’s New Deal legislative agenda to rescue the United States from the Great Depression. Constructed by the WPA, between 1938 and 1941, the Prowers County Welfare Housing presents an important record of the federal relief programs administered in Colorado’s Eastern Plains during the Great Depression. The construction of the housing complex provided much-needed employment in Prowers County over several years. The housing complex also represents a remarkable effort by Prowers County to provide public housing for its needy. It is the only complex of the kind constructed in eastern Colorado. New Deal public housing projects were primarily limited to urban areas. Additionally, the Welfare Housing property is an excellent example of the WPA Rustic Style. Rustic characteristics featured in the buildings include the use of native stone, traditional construction methods, evident hand craftsmanship, and simple, functional design. The Prowers County Welfare Housing meets the registration requirements under the New Deal Resources on Colorado’s Eastern Plains Multiple Property Documentation Form (MPDF). The Prowers County Welfare Housing meets the registration requirements of one property type delineated in the MPDF-Social Welfare Buildings (subtype: Welfare Housing and Offices).
Willow Creek Park
Memorial Drive, Parkview Ave. and Willow Valley Rd.
National Register 8/10/2007, 5PW.56
The park is associated with several Great Depression era federal relief programs. Constructed between 1933 and 1938 under the Civil Works Administration (CWA), the Federal Emergency Relief Administration (FERA) and the Works Progress Administration (WPA), creation of the park provided a source of employment in Lamar during much of the Depression. Willow Creek Park was Colorado’s first CWA project and the first planned park in Lamar, providing a location for active and passive recreation activities. A prominent feature of the city, the park’s buildings and stone features are good examples of the Rustic style as interpreted by New Deal agencies. Characteristics include the use of native stone; traditional construction methods; evident hand craftsmanship; and simple functional design. The property is associated with the New Deal Resources on Colorado’s Eastern Plains Multiple Property Submission. (2005 photograph.) More information (PDF, 1.25 MB).
Wiley Rock Schoolhouse
603 Main St.
National Register 2/20/2004, 5PW.196
The 1938 building served as an annex to the adjacent high school and provided space for classes in agriculture, a blacksmith shop for manual training, and a sound-proof music room for the band and orchestra. While successfully serving these purposes, the building went on to provide other educational opportunities. The Depression-era Works Progress Administration (WPA) undertook the construction of the school district sponsored project. The school typifies the WPA’s use of local labor and local materials. The simple stone building exhibits creative masonry technique and quality craftsmanship. The property is associated with the New Deal Resources on Colorado’s Eastern Plains Multiple Property Submission. (2003 photograph.)
White River National Forest
National Register 5/12/1975, 5PT.37
The townsite is significant as the remains of a prosperous Roaring Fork Valley mining camp of the 1880s. Originally known as Castle Forks, the town of Ashcroft was incorporated in 1882. Its peak population of approximately 1,000 supported a variety of commercial enterprises. By the end of 1883, much of the population, and many of the buildings, began moving to Aspen. The post office remained open until 1912, and the last permanent resident left in 1925. Fewer than a dozen of the original log and/or wood frame buildings remain in place. The most prominent is a two-story false front commercial building that housed the Hotel View. The townsite is now interpreted for visitors under the auspices of the Aspen Historical Society. The property is associated with the Mining Industry in Colorado Multiple Property Submission. (1993 photograph.)
Armory Hall / Fraternal Hall
130 S. Galena St.
National Register 6/5/1975, 5PT.36
Equivalent in height to a three-story building, the hall was constructed in 1892 to house local militia activities on the first floor and a fraternal hall on the second. Over the years, it provided space for a wide variety of community activities, and it has served as the city hall since 1956. The walls are of red brick, and the building’s steeply pitched truncated gable roof includes three evenly spaced hipped roof dormers on its north and south sides. (1998 photograph.)
Aspen Community Church
200 N. Aspen St.
National Register 5/12/1975, 5PT.33
The building, which rises three stories in height, was dedicated as a Presbyterian Church in March 1891. Walls are of random coursed, rough cut sandstone. Somewhat fortress like in overall appearance, the façade is dominated by a large corner bell tower that is cylindrical in form and topped with a bell shaped roof. A heavy slightly pointed arch of stone defines the main entry. The top of the arch is filled with a floral fresco carved from a sandstone slab. Gables extend from the steeply pitched hipped roof. (1974 photograph.)
700 S. Aspen St. (Willoughby Park)
National Register 6/22/1990, 5PT.560
The original boat tow, which utilized two wooden toboggans was constructed in 1937. Measuring twelve feet in length and three feet in width, the four-seat "boats" were connected by steel cable to rotating terminals converted from hoist rigs from the dormant Little Annie Mine on Aspen Mountain. The surviving boat, now located in Willoughby Park, remains important for its association with the early development of Aspen as an international ski resort during the late 1930s. Listed under Historic Resources of Aspen Multiple Resource Area. (1997 photograph.)
201 W. Francis St.
National Register 3/6/1987, 5PT.525
The house is located on a large corner lot in the late 19th century West End residential neighborhood. Constructed in 1889 for Ryland R. Bowles, an early Aspen contractor and lumber dealer, the two-story brick residence is a good vernacular interpretation of the Queen Anne style, displaying the asymmetrical massing and steeply pitched cross gabled roof often associated with the style. The foundation walls and window sills are of rusticated sandstone. The second owner was William W. Cooley, an Aspen attorney specializing in mining law, who occupied the property during 1891. Listed under Historic Resources of Aspen Multiple Resource Area. (1986 photograph.)
Matthew Callahan Log Cabin
205 S. 3rd St.
National Register 3/6/1987, 5PT.149
Believed to date from the early 1880s, the one-story log cabin has a side gabled roof. Constructed with logs hewn into rectangular shapes of varying size, it is one of the few remaining pre-mining era structures known to exist in Aspen. As such it is representative of the materials and technology available at the time of its construction. Listed under Historic Resources of Aspen Multiple Resource Area. (1980 photograph.)
Collins Block-Aspen Lumber & Supply
204 S. Mill
National Register 3/6/1987, 5PT.113.40
Constructed between 1891-93, this somewhat atypical commercial building is located on a downtown corner lot. The first story walls are of rusticated sandstone, while the second story walls are brick. The building exhibits an eclectic mix of Late Victorian and Neoclassical architectural detailing. Between the floors, a Tuscan column supported roof extends out over the sidewalk. At the second story level of the Mill Street side, there is a recessed porch with a wooden balustrade that is topped with Ionic columns. Listed under Historic Resources of Aspen Multiple Resource Area. (1975 photograph.)
135 E. Cooper Ave.
National Register 3/6/1987, 5PT.162
Located on a corner lot, this circa 1888 wood frame two-story Queen Anne style residence’s most distinctive architectural feature is a two-story rectangular bay set at an angle on its northeast front corner. Exterior walls are clapboard covered. The complex roof includes a steeply pitched hipped portion and an off-center front gable that is faced with cut shingles. A large shed roofed porch with turned posts and a spindle frieze runs across the north façade. Listed under Historic Resources of Aspen Multiple Resource Area. (1986 photograph.)
D.E. Frantz House
333 W. Bleeker St.
National Register 3/6/1987, 5PT.251
Constructed in 1909 for local sawmill owner D.E. Frantz, the 1¾-story wood frame residence has a steeply pitched cross gabled roof. An elaborately detailed oriel window; gable ends, with scalloped wood shingles; and a corner entry porch, with turned posts and decorative brackets are among the architectural elements of the period displayed in this well-crafted representative of the Queen Anne style. Listed under Historic Resources of Aspen Multiple Resource Area. (1986 photograph.)
Samuel L. Hallett House
432 W. Francis St.
National Register 3/6/1987, 5PT.262
Beginning as a circa 1885 hand hewn log cabin, alterations and additions believed to date from 1892 transformed the simple building into a one-story clapboard sided dwelling in keeping with the more elegant homes associated with Aspen’s period of development as a mining center. Late Victorian elements include a large wrap around porch. An early occupant, S.L. Hallett, was involved in the management of the Smuggler Mine. Listed under Historic Resources of Aspen Multiple Resource Area. (2000 photograph.)
Holden Mining & Smelting Co.
1000 Block W. Colo. Hwy. 82
National Register 6/22/1990, 5PT.539
From 1891 to 1893, this smelting facility, also known as the Holden Lixiviation Works, played a significant role in the production of silver during Aspen’s silver mining boom. The approximately 2½-acre district encompasses the most important components associated with the operation. The lixiviation process employed salt in the leaching of silver from the ores extracted from nearby mines. The 1½-story wood frame sampling works building, measuring 77 in length and 42 feet in width, and a portion of a one-story salt shed remain on the site. Large portions of the sandstone foundation are all that remain of the multi-story mill building which appears to have been over 250 feet in length. Listed under Historic Resources of Aspen and Mining Industry in Colorado Multiple Property Submissions. (ca. 2000 photograph.)
330 E. Main St.
National Register 3/20/1986, 5PT.113.2
The three-story red brick hotel occupies a prominent corner location in downtown Aspen. Completed in 1889, the building features numerous round arch window openings and an unusual parapet, with brick work forming four rows of small square panels. The construction of the hotel was financed by Jerome B. Wheeler, one of Aspen’s most notable entrepreneurs, during the town’s early period of development. Many original interior appointments remain in the first floor level. In 1945, the exterior was painted a pale gray with blue trim when Walter Paepcke commissioned Herbert Bayer to oversee a remodeling project on behalf of the Aspen Company. A subsequent project in the mid-1980s included removal of the paint. (2000 photograph.)
203 S. Galena St.
National Register 1/18/1985, 5PT.113.36
Located on a prominent downtown corner, the building was constructed in 1891 by early Aspen promoter David Marks Hyman, who was among the first large investors in the Roaring Fork Mining District. One of the largest business blocks constructed during the boom years before the Silver Crash of 1893, the street walls of the two-story brick building are faced with heavy rusticated sandstone. An oblique corner entry marks the first floor retail space that originally housed the First National Bank of Aspen. The second floor contained office spaces and a lodge meeting hall for the Patriotic Order Sons of America. From the early 1920s into the 1960s, much of the first floor retail space was occupied by a variety of automobile related enterprises initiated by M.H. Brand.
Thomas Hynes House
303 E. Main St.
National Register 3/6/1987, 5PT.113.15
This typical clapboard sided miner’s cottage was constructed in 1885. The original one-story dwelling had an L-shaped plan and a steeply pitched cross gabled roof. The west façade features a large double hung window topped with a decorative pent roof and a flat roofed porch with built up posts and a decorative frieze. Listed under Historic Resources of Aspen Multiple Resource Area. (1980 photograph.)
La Fave Block
405 S. Hunter St.
National Register 3/6/1987, 5PT.113.7
The 1888 two-story brick business block was constructed for Frank La Fave. Architectural details of note include an oblique corner entry and an elaborate cornice. The first floor storefront area features large windows with transoms. It was originally occupied by the St. James Restaurant, which was praised by the Aspen Daily Times for being "magnificent, neat, and clean". During the early 1950s, the building was utilized by architect Fritz Benedict as an office. Listed under Historic Resources of Aspen Multiple Resource Area. (2000 photograph.)
Maroon Creek Bridge
Colo. Hwy. 82, Aspen vicinity
National Register 2/4/1985, 5PT.136
In 1887, the Colorado Midland Railroad and the Denver and Rio Grande Railroad raced to be the first to stretch their rail lines to the mining town of Aspen. The D&RG reached Aspen by October, and the Colorado Midland reached the Maroon Creek Crossing in December. The bridge, completed in 1888, features a multi-span trestle with a built-up steel deck girder. It is one of the last trestles of its design constructed for the state’s narrow gauge mountain railroads during the late 19th century. Listed under Highway Bridges in Colorado Multiple Property Submission and under Railroads in Colorado, 1858-1948 Multiple Property Submission. (1980 photograph.)
New Brick / The Brick Saloon / Red Onion
420 E. Cooper Ave.
National Register 3/6/1987, 5PT.113.5
A good local example of Victorian era commercial architecture, this two-story brick building was constructed in 1892 as a saloon for Tom Latta, a town alderman. The three second story windows are topped with rounded arches that are defined by dentil-like brick work, and a pediment is centered above the intricately detailed cornice. Listed under Historic Resources of Aspen Multiple Resource Area. (1986 photograph.)
Pitkin County Courthouse
506 E. Main St.
National Register 5/12/1975, 5PT.34
Built in 1890, the two-story brick building has a raised basement. The truncated hip roof is topped with a richly detailed, three-tier turret centered over the main entry. (1974 photograph.)
Riede’s City Bakery
413 E. Hyman Ave.
National Register 3/6/1987, 5PT.528.12
Dating from 1885, the one-story wood frame commercial building features a false front with bracketed cornice. A bracketed cornice also tops the storefront windows and recessed double door entry. Although the original use of the building is not documented, Raymond Riede operated a bakery and confectionery business there from 1890 until 1908. Listed under Historic Resources of Aspen Multiple Resource Area.
Judge Shaw House / Newberry House
206 Lake Ave.
National Register 3/6/1987, 5PT.116.20
Constructed on a large lot in Hallam’s Addition, the circa 1890 house is best known for its association with Judge Robert Shaw, which began in 1922. Shaw was a practicing attorney specializing in water law, and he served as a county judge from 1921 until 1969. A vernacular interpretation of the Shingle style, the 2½-story wood frame residence has a complex roof. The walls are faced with clapboards on the first story and shingles on the second. Other notable features include a large wrap around porch and an unusual carriage house, which was incorporated into the overall design. Listed under Historic Resources of Aspen Multiple Resource Area. (1986 photograph.)
Mill Street Park
National Register 2/4/1985, 5PT.23
Completed in May 1911, the bridge consisted of a 120’ steel through truss designed by Charles G. Sheely. In 1966, it was shortened and moved to its present location near Aspen where it functions as a pedestrian bridge in Mill Street Park. It is one of the state’s earliest riveted trusses. Listed under Highway Bridges in Colorado Multiple Property Submission. (2000 photograph.)
525 N. 2nd St.
National Register 3/6/1987, 5PT.528.6
Constructed circa 1890, the large two-story wood frame Queen Anne style residence features clapboard siding and a distinctive polygonal corner tower. The raised foundations walls are of sandstone, and the gable ends of the steeply pitched cross gabled roof are wood shingled. Listed under Historic Resources of Aspen Multiple Resource Area. (2000 photograph.)
320 W. Main St.
National Register 1/19/1989, 5PT.114.19
The large 2½-story wood frame residence is one of Aspen’s best examples of the Queen Anne style. Constructed circa 1890, it has an irregular plan, a multi-gabled roof, a wrap around porch, and a large two-story bay that is topped by a gabled roof dormer. Narrow clapboards face the first floor walls, and the second floor walls are shingled. An intact barn/carriage house, with a dormered gable roof and cupola is also located on the large lot. The first owner was Eben Smith, a successful owner of mining operations, who did much to promote safety and productivity within Colorado’s mining industry. Listed under Historic Resources of Aspen Multiple Resource Area. (2000 photograph.)
National Register 5/18/1987, 5PT.479
In 1879, the Smuggler was among the first strikes made by Charles Bennett when he and other Leadville miners first came to the Roaring Fork Valley, and the Smuggler Mining Company was incorporated in November 1881. As one of the top silver and lead producers in the Aspen area, the mine was among the few that continued to operate after the Silver Crash of 1893. Active mining ceased in 1918, and the substantial wood frame buildings associated with the operation were dismantled. In addition to numerous underground tunnels, early tailings piles remain visible on the site. Mining resumed after World War II, and most of the wood frame and metal buildings now on the site were constructed after 1950. Listed under Historic Resources of Aspen and Mining Industry in Colorado Multiple Property Submissions. (1986 photograph.)
National Register 4/1/2002, 5PT.122
Ute Cemetery is important for its association with the settlement of Aspen. Beginning with the first burial in 1880, the cemetery became the final resting place for numerous settlers. When the community established two other more formally designed cemeteries, Ute Cemetery remained the burial ground for Aspen residents of modest means and uncelebrated accomplishments. (2001 photograph.)
Davis Waite House
234 W. Francis St.
National Register 3/6/1987, 5PT.528.7
Constructed in 1888, the Late Victorian style two-story wood frame dwelling was occupied by Davis H. Waite before and after his two year term as Colorado’s governor. Serving at the time of the Silver Crash of 1893, Waite also oversaw the enactment of women’s suffrage in Colorado. A lawyer and member of the Populist Party, Waite was an early publisher of the Aspen Times. Listed under Historic Resources of Aspen Multiple Resource Area. (2000 photograph.)
Henry Webber House / Pioneer Park
442 W. Bleeker
National Register 3/6/1987, 5PT.115.10
Often referred to as Pioneer Park, the 1½-story brick house was constructed in 1885 for Henry Webber, a shoe and boot merchant, who came to Aspen in 1880 and subsequently amassed considerable wealth through his mining investments. Featuring a mansard roof with multiple dormers, the well preserved dwelling is a rare local example of the Second Empire style. Listed under Aspen Multiple Resource Area. (1986 photograph.)
Wheeler Opera House
330 E. Hyman Ave.
National Register 8/21/1972, 5PT.35
Financed by Jerome B. Wheeler, construction of the massive three-story commercial building located on a prominent downtown corner began in 1888 and was completed in 1898. Designed by early Denver architect Willoughby J. Edbrooke, utilizing a mix of Romanesque and Italianate style architectural elements, the primarily hipped roof building has walls of peachblow sandstone. Rounded arches define window and door openings on the first and third levels. Retail spaces were located on the first floor, professional offices were on the second, and the Opera House occupied the entire third floor. A fire gutted the third floor in 1912, and it remained closed off until 1947 when the upper two floors were leased to the Aspen Company. (1971 photograph.)
620 W. Bleeker St.
National Register 5/30/1975, 5PT.32
Constructed in 1888 for Jerome B. Wheeler, an investor from New York who played an important role in Aspen’s evolution from a mining camp into a town of culture and refinement, the two-story brick house also includes a finished attic level. The building’s importance as a good local example of the Queen Anne style is reflected in its steeply pitched complex roof, asymmetrical massing, and decorative shingled gable ends. Purchased by Walter Paepcke in 1945, this distinctive residence was conveyed to the Aspen Historical Society for use as a museum in 1969. (ca. 2000 photograph.)
Independence & Independence Mill Site
Colo. Hwy. 82, White River National Forest
National Register 4/11/1973, 5PT.18
The cluster of log cabins and cabin ruins remaining on the site are associated with early mining history in the Upper Roaring Fork area of eastern Pitkin County. Most of the buildings in the settlement, which extended along the Roaring Fork River, have collapsed or lack roofs. Located on the Independence Pass wagon road between Aspen and Leadville, the town served as a good stopping point for travelers. Population reportedly grew from 150 miners in 1881 to approximately 2,000 residents during the mid-1880s. By the late 1880s, fewer than 100 residents remained, and most commercial enterprises had either closed or relocated to Aspen. The property is associated with the Mining Industry in Colorado Multiple Property Submission. (1999 photograph.)
Osgood Castle / Cleveholm
National Register 6/28/1971, 5PT.553.2
Also known as Cleveholm, the sprawling forty-two room mansion is located approximately one mile south of Redstone. Designed for John Cleveland Osgood, under the direction of the New York architectural firm of Boal & Harnois, the residence was completed in 1903. Reminiscent of a 16th century Tudor manor house in its overall appearance, towers, turrets, and oriel windows are among the most interesting architectural details. First and second story walls are of cut and coursed red sandstone, while the third story and gable ends are covered with wood shingles. Osgood first traveled west in 1882 and found his riches in Colorado coal fields. He founded the Colorado Fuel Company, which he later merged with Colorado Coal and Iron Company to form the powerful Colorado Fuel & Iron Company, commonly referred to as CF&I. (1994 photograph.)
The 1901 lodge is located slightly north of the Osgood Castle. Designed in the Swiss Chalet style by architect Theodore Boal, the 1½-story wood shingled lodge served as the residence for the caretaker of John C. Osgood’s private game preserve. Dominating the façade are full-width galleries with decorative cut and sawn balustrades. Large carved spindles support a balcony located under the wide, projecting eaves of the clipped gable roof. Listed under Historic Resources of Redstone, Colorado Multiple Property Submission. (1999 photograph.)
642 Redstone Blvd.
National Register 8/18/1983, 5PT.443
Dating from 1901, the small wood frame cottage is topped with a pyramidal roof. It is representative of the dwellings erected under the direction of John C. Osgood as housing for married workers associated with his coal related operations, which thrived in the area from 1899 to 1909. Osgood created his model company town based on a belief that providing better living conditions would result in greater production. Although the Redstone cottages were based on standard plans, they exhibited an eclectic mix of then popular styles in their varied ornamentation. Many of the one hundred cottages constructed by 1902 were subsequently demolished or moved to other locations.
Redstone Coke Oven Historic District
Colo. Hwy. 133 & Chair Mountain Stables Rd., Redstone vicinity
National Register 2/7/1990, 5PT.451
The District is important for its association with the development of the coal mining and processing industry in Colorado. The ovens were constructed by the Colorado Fuel and Iron Company in 1899, during a period of expansion in the processing of coking coal brought about by the increased demand from the region’s smelting industry. The Redstone ovens are also an important engineering resource, representing a type of industrial structure no longer in use and rapidly disappearing from the West. Listed under Historic Resources of Redstone, Colorado Multiple Property Submission.
Redstone Historic District
Along Crystal River, Hawk Creek to 226 Redstone Blvd.
National Register 7/19/1989, 5PT.553
The Redstone Historic District is a rare, intact Colorado example of an industrial company town, with examples of buildings ranging from worker’s cottages to the large estate of the industrial magnate John Cleveland Osgood. Osgood, as head of the Colorado Fuel and Iron Company from 1892 until 1903, regarded Redstone as his personal project and saw the town’s development as a model and standard for the industry. The district survives as a major body of work by architect Theodore Boal. Boal adapted popular Victorian styles to a mountain setting utilizing unique combinations of wood and stone in his picturesque designs. Listed under Historic Resources of Redstone, Colorado and Mining Industry in Colorado Multiple Property Submissions. (Superintendent’s House, 1988 photograph.)
82 Redstone Blvd.
National Register 3/27/1980, 5PT.553.1
The inn originally functioned as part of the model community built by John C. Osgood for the workers associated with his nearby coke producing and coal mining operations. The 2½-story wood frame building was constructed in 1902 for the primary purpose of housing bachelor miners in somewhat elegant surroundings. A large square clock tower, which incorporates a red sandstone base; extensive cross-timbering; and a steeply pitched pyramidal roof, rising a full story above the apex of the building’s roof are among the distinctive architectural details. The property is associated with the Mining Industry in Colorado Multiple Property Submission. (ca. 1979 photograph.)
Plaque Sources: National Register of Historic Places (Updated April 2011)
Congratulations on the recent listing of your property in the National Register. You may be interested in obtaining a plaque recognizing the property's official designation. National Register plaques are available from a number of sources. The standard wording is:
This Property Has Been Placed On The
National Register Of Historic Places
By The United States Department Of The Interior
History Colorado and the State Historic Preservation Officer do not endorse any of the companies listed below nor can we guarantee the prices or descriptions quoted. Contact companies directly to obtain specific design and price information.
For NHL plaque contact:
NPS Intermountain Regional Office, Denver
12795 W. Alameda Pkwy.
Denver, CO 80225-0287
Preparing a Press Release
Now that your property is listed in the National Register of Historic Places, you may want to write a press release so the local newspaper can share the good news. We have provided a standard paragraph below with general information about the National Register program to include in your release:
The National Register of Historic Places is the official federal list of districts, sites, buildings, structures, and objects significant in American history, architecture, archaeology, engineering, and culture. These contribute to an understanding of the historical and cultural foundations of the nation. Authorized under the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Register is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect our historic and archeological resources. The National Park Service provides overall program administration. The Office of Archaeology and Historic Preservation (OAHP) in History Colorado, the Colorado Historical Society, administers the register in Colorado. OAHP assists property owners in listing Colorado's most historically and architecturally significant buildings, structures, and sites in the National Register of Historic Places and the Colorado State Register of Historic Properties. In Colorado there are over 1,300 properties listed in the National Register and over 1,800 listed in the State Register. Properties listed in the National or State Registers may be eligible for investment tax credits or for grants from the State Historical Fund, another program of History Colorado. OAHP staff is available to assist with the initial assessments of eligibility and to provide guidance in the completion of Register nominations.
Should you have any questions, please contact the National Register staff at the Office of Archaeology and Historic Preservation (303-866-3392).
St. Paul’s Lutheran Church
300 Monmouth Ave.
State Register 12/12/2001, 5PL.52
The 1931 church was designed by prominent Denver architect Eugene G. Groves and continues to serve the congregation. The front gabled roof one-story brick building rests on a slightly raised concrete basement. On the façade, a tripartite segmental arched stained glass window, surrounded by cast stone trim, is centered above the small front gabled entry. The interior features a vaulted ceiling supported by four exposed wood trusses. Although Groves designed numerous educational and governmental buildings throughout Colorado, this is the only religious building he is known to have designed during his prolific fifty-year practice. (2000 photograph.)
The Evergreen Corner Rural Historic Landscape is significant for its association with the development agriculture in Phillips County from the farming boom of the 1910s through the agricultural changes of the mid-twentieth century. Though the land was originally homesteaded in 1887, it passed through a series of non-resident land owners for the next three decades until purchased by Henry Flaker in 1917. Flaker is responsible for establishing the farmstead as it appears today, constructing the house, barn, tankhouse, and outhouse for his hog farm. Later a Quonset hut and an expanded grain storage for a cattle feed lot replaced Flaker’s hog barn and pens. It is also an excellent example of a Phillips County farmstead from the first half of the twentieth century. The white frame buildings clustered around a central farmyard are characteristic of early twentieth century Phillips County farms while the Quonset hut, metal bins, and corral are characteristic of mid-twentieth century expansion. More information (PDF, 2.59 MB).
First National Bank of Haxtun (Haxtun Town Hall)
145 S. Colorado Ave.
National Register 7/1/1986, 5PL.3
The 1917 bank closed in 1932 as part of the general economic collapse during the Great Depression. The city purchased the building in 1939 for use as the city hall. It is a good example of the Neo-Classical style and includes marble pilasters, pediments, and cornices. The interior retains its marble baseboards and teller plates, terrazzo floors, wood room dividers with leaded and etched glass, and beamed ceiling. (1997 photograph.)
Shirley Hotel (Haxtun Inn)
101 S. Colorado Ave.
State Register 8/8/2001, National Register 3/28/2002, 5PL.37
Constructed in 1921, the two-story, dark red brick building has a long association with the commercial history of Haxtun. The Shirley functioned as the community’s last and longest operating hotel, providing lodging and meals to railroad and automobile travelers. (2001 photograph.)
Hargreaves Homestead Rural Historic District
Hwy. 385 between CR 10 and CR 12, Holyoke vicinity
National Register 12/3/2013, 5PL.24
The 320-acre Hargreaves Homestead district has been family owned since its establishment. Henry Hargreaves, an emigrant from Liverpool, England, filed a pre-emption claim on the southwest quarter of the section in spring 1887. Hargreaves’ highly successful farming and ranching operation was touted in circa -1920s promotional brochures published by the railroad. In 1964, the Hargreaves installed a new flood irrigation system, switching crop production from dryland wheat to irrigated corn. More information (PDF, 419 kb).
W.E. Heginbotham House (Holyoke Public Library)
539 S. Baxter
National Register 3/8/1988, 5PL.5
Will Heginbotham hired contractor Michael McEachern in 1919 to construct this one-and-one-half-story building of red molded brick, with half timbered gable ends. The site consists of the late Craftsman Style house finished in 1921, a matching garage and covered gateways, and landscaped grounds. Heginbotham was president and owner of the Farmer’s and Merchant’s Bank and very active in civic affairs. He left his entire estate to the town of Holyoke and Phillips County, and the home is now the Holyoke Public Library.
Millage Farm Rural Historic District
CR 18 between CR 37 and Hwy. 385, Holyoke
National Register 12/3/2013, 5PL.110
In the family since 1906, Millage Farm district occupies 160 acres. The property is locally significant for agriculture for its long association with dryland farming and livestock production in Phillips County for the period 1906-1963. It is also significant architecturally as an excellent example of a mid-twentieth century farming complex with farm buildings of a type, period or method of construction representative of the mid-century evolution of such complexes locally between 1920 and 1960. More information (PDF, 471 kb).
Phillips County Courthouse
221 Interocean Ave.
National Register 12/28/2007, 5PL.19
Constructed by the Public Works Administration (PWA), the Phillips County Courthouse represents President Roosevelt’s New Deal legislative agenda to bring America out of the Great Depression. The courthouse is the only surviving PWA project in Phillips County and the most intact of all the county’s New Deal projects. The brick building with terra cotta trim is an example of the Moderne style applied to a government building constructed with PWA funds and designed by a prominent Denver architect, Eugene Groves. The building is associated with the governing of Phillips County, serving continuously as the courthouse since 1936. The property is associated with the New Deal Resources on Colorado’s Eastern Plains Multiple Property Submission. (1997 photograph.) More information (PDF, 1.25 MB).
Reimer-Smith Oil Station
109 S. Campbell Ave.
National Register 4/21/2000, 5PL.51
The 1927 Reimer-Smith Oil Station is an excellent intact example of a rapidly disappearing form of the 1920s era "house with canopy"type of gas station. The station is also an important example of the use of pressed metal as an interior and exterior wall treatment. The Reimer-Oil Station is one of the best surviving examples of the use of pressed metal in early 20th century Colorado. Members of the Phillips County Historical Society rescued the building from demolition in 1998 by moving it to the grounds of their museum. (2002 photograph.)
Sawyer House / Sears Hotel (Burge Hotel)
230 N. Interocean
State Register 6/14/1995, 5PL.31
The Sawyer House / Sears Hotel is associated with the commercial development of the Holyoke community. The original section dates from 1887. Subsequent additions accommodated the hotel’s growing trade. (2006 photograph.)
County Rd. 327
National Register 2/4/1985, 5PE.300
Completed by the Pueblo Bridge Company in 1913, this vehicular bridge over the Arkansas River was supposed to be a steel structure. The design was changed to a three-span Luten arch when the steel could not be delivered prior to high water in 1913. It is one of the few bridges in Pueblo County that withstood the major flood of 1921. Listed under the Highway Bridges in Colorado Multiple Property Submission.
6916 Broadacre Rd.
National Register 8/16/1984, 5PE.636
The complex consists of five buildings. Benjamin F. Butler, a prominent military figure and attorney from the east, took possession of the ranch in 1882. The predominately adobe main house is a one-story structure with a gable roof and is known to date from the 1880s.
Cave Spring Ranch Barn
6061 3R Rd.
State Register 12/8/1999, 5PE.3105
Constructed about 1903, the post and beam Cave Spring Ranch Barn is an example of a bank barn, a name derived from its construction technique. The barn is built into the side of a hill, allowing direct access on two levels. The barn has recently been stabilized and restored. (1998 photograph.)
Squirrel Creek Recreational Unit
San Isabel National Forest, Beulah vicinity
National Register 3/28/2005, 5PE.5346 / 5CR.492
Located 26 miles southwest of Pueblo in Pueblo and Custer counties, the Squirrel Creek Recreational Unit consists of a four-mile segment of a historic road (now known as Squirrel Creek Trail) that parallels much of Squirrel Creek. The road connects with the other resources in the district, including the Squirrel Creek Campground with its picnic shelter; the Cascade Trail; and the ruins of the Squirrel Creek Lodge. Improvements began in 1919 and the area remained in use until 1947, when a flash flood destroyed much of the road, part of the trail, and portions of the campground. The recreational property is associated with the rapid growth and development of outdoor recreation in the United States following World War I. The district exemplifies the post-war transition of the Forest Service from a focus on timber and watershed management to a new role in public outdoor recreation. Construction began as a result of promotional and financial assistance from the nonprofit local cooperative association, the San Isabel Public Recreation Association. Arthur Carhart, the first full-time landscape architect hired by the USFS, is credited with the application of integrated recreational planning in the National Forests. During his tenure with the Forest Service (from 1919 through 1922), Carhart developed the first forest-wide comprehensive recreational plan that was later used as a model throughout the National Forest system. As the first professionally and comprehensively planned recreation complex in the National Forest system, the Squirrel Creek Recreational Unit is nationally significant. More information (PDF, 216 kb).
Pueblo Mountain Park
S. Pine Dr., 1 mile south of County Rd. 220, vicinity of Beulah
National Register 12/6/1994, 5PE.1663
Begun in 1919, Pueblo Mountain Park is an early municipally owned automobile oriented, mountain park designed to offer Pueblo area residents easily accessible recreational facilities outside the urban environment. Most of the park’s Rustic style picnic, lodging, and sports facilities were constructed during the Great Depression by the Civilian Conservation Corps and the Works Progress Administration. Associated property with the Historic Park Landscapes in National and State Parks Multiple Property Submission. (1993 photograph.)
Boone Santa Fe Railroad Depot (Boone Town Hall)
100 Baker Ave.
State Register 5/14/1997, National Register 6/27/1997, 5PE.2151
Designed to handle both passengers and freight, the Santa Fe Railroad constructed this combination depot in 1913. It is significant for its role as a shipping point for Boone and the surrounding region and as one of the few surviving wood frame Santa Fe depots still at its original location. Associated property with the Railroads in Colorado, 1858-1948 Multiple Property Submission. (1997 photograph.)
US Hwy. 50
National Register 2/4/1985, 5PE.302
Using a design by Robert DuBois, the Pueblo Bridge Company began construction in 1920. Completed in 1921, the segmental, reinforced concrete filled spandrel arch was considered to be a significant crossing of the Santa Fe Trail, now US 50. It is the longest filled spandrel arch for roadway use in Colorado. Listed under Highway Bridges in Colorado Multiple Property Submission.
St. Charles River Bridge (CDOT No. L-19-C)
US Hwy. 50, Devine vicinity
National Register 10/15/2002, 5PE.3980
Crossing the St. Charles River west of Pueblo, the 1945 steel rigid connected Parker through truss structure's single span runs for 150 feet. The bridge was designed by the Colorado Department of Highways, fabricated by Midwest Steel & Iron Works, and built by Frank M. Kenney. Still in use at its original location, it remains intact as a rare surviving example of what was a mainstay structural type utilized for vehicular bridge construction in Colorado. Listed under Highway Bridges in Colorado Multiple Property Submission.
Indian Petroglyphs & Pictographs / Turkey Creek Canyon Rock Art District
Turkey Creek Canyon
National Register 5/3/1976, 5PE.14
Left behind by Native Americans on the face of a vertical rock wall in the canyon formed by Turkey Creek, the panel of art work is about fifty feet in length, with the main strip at chest height. It survives as a valuable link in the history of the region’s settlement.
1906 Court St.
National Register 11/7/1985, 5PE.4205
W. J. Barndollar, a prominent local banker, business-person and politician, commissioned Pueblo architect Patrick P. Mills to design the house in 1889. It is a well-preserved local example of the Queen Anne style. (1984 photograph.)
Baxter House / Bishop’s House
325 W. 15th St.
National Register 2/17/1978, 5PE.497
Built in 1893, Oliver Hazard Perry Baxter’s residence is a rich blend of Late Victorian and Queen Anne architecture. Subsequent owners donated the house to the Catholic Diocese.
Allen J. Beaumont House
425 W. 15th St.
National Register 8/18/1983, 5PE.4201
Built in 1889 for Allen J. Beaumont, a prominent Pueblo attorney, architect A. Morris Stuckert’s design is an eclectic mix of Queen Anne and Richardsonian Romanesque detailing. The one and a half story residence of pink lava stone sits on a hill overlooking the city.
Dr. John A. Black House Complex
102 W. Pitkin Ave.
National Register 11/7/1985, 5PE.4211
Constructed in 1910 for a prominent physician, the home exhibits an unusual application of classical detailing to a Foursquare design. The 2½-story blonde brick dwelling has a two-story rounded portico supported by large Ionic columns dominating its façade. (1985 photograph.)
229 W. 12th St.
National Register 1/9/1978, 5PE.493
James N. Carlile House
44 Carlile Pl.
National Register 2/8/1985, 5PE.4214
Constructed in 1872 as a modest residence, architect Frank West executed an extensive remodeling of the house during 1883-1884, adding porches and elaborate Queen Anne detailing for the developer of this south side neighborhood. The property, prominently located at the end of Carlile Place, shares the street with a number of other important Pueblo residences.
Central High School
431 E. Pitkin Ave.
National Register 11/14/1979, 5PE.502
Built circa 1881 as a high school, after several years it became a grade school. The pink rhyolite "Stone Schoolhouse" remains a visual landmark in Pueblo. (1999 photograph.)
Pueblo Christopher Columbus Monument
Median in the 100 Block of E. Abriendo Ave.
National Register 8/31/2011, 5PE.3162
The Pueblo Christopher Columbus Monument is eligible to National Register of Historic Places in the area of Ethnic Heritage from 1905-61 at the local level of significance. This period of significance begins with the unveiling and commemoration of the monument and ends in 1961 to comply with National Register guidelines. It is a commemorative property that primarily derives its significance from the symbolic value of Christopher Columbus to the Italian-American heritage movement, and as it has become an integral part of that community’s tradition of celebrating Columbus Day. This monument was the first in Colorado to commemorate Christopher Columbus and has been a continual focal point for annual Columbus Day celebrations by the local Italian-American community. In 1907, two years after the Pueblo Christopher Columbus Monument’s dedication, Colorado became the first state to make Columbus Day a statutory holiday. (1994 photograph.) More information (PDF, 5 MB)
Church of the Ascension (Ascension Episcopal Church)
420 W. 18th Street
State Register 3/13/2002, 5PE.4175
Designed by Frank E. Wetherell of the Iowa architectural firm of Wetherell & Gage, the 1914 sandstone trimmed brick building incorporates style elements. The quality and integrity of the building’s interior design and appointments enhance its architectural significance, and the compatible 1941 parish hall addition reflects the evolving needs of the congregation. A 1926 style rectory of stucco and brick is located to the west of the church. (2000 photograph.) More information (PDF, 391 kb).
City Park Carousel
National Register 4/21/1983, 5PE.615
This three-abreast C.W. Parker "Jumping Horse Carry-Us-All", with thirty-six hand carved horses, includes one lover’s tub and one chariot. It was purchased by J.J. McQuillian, owner of the Lake Minnequa Amusement Park, in 1914. During the Depression, the carousel was sold to the city and moved to City Park sometime between 1937 and 1941. (1983 photograph.)
401-411 N. Main St.
National Register 4/17/1992, 5PE.559
William Norman Bowman’s 1925 design for the Southern Colorado Investment Company reflects the influence of the prominent Chicago architect, Louis Sullivan. The Sullivanesque Colorado Building is a distinct departure from the Victorian and Neo-Classical designs so prevalent in the Pueblo business district.
Colorado Fuel & Iron Company Mine Rescue Car No. 1
215 Canal St., Steelworks Museum
State Register 12/9/1998, relocation and additional documentation approved 5/31/2007, 5PE.6218
Built in 1882 as a Wagner Palace Sleeping Car, the Pullman Company modified the rail car in 1910 for the U.S. Bureau of Mines’ program to improve mine safety and rescue operations in Colorado’s coal mines. It is one of only two such cars left in the country. Six were outfitted by the Bureau to serve as educational centers and rapid response rescue stations. Car No. 1 aided at numerous mining disasters before being sold to Colorado Fuel and Iron in 1923. The company used it at safety conventions and as a traveling classroom. Between 2002 and 2007, the Pueblo County Historical Society, using State Historical Fund grants and other funding, restored the car before donating it to Pueblo County for exhibit at the Bessemer Historical Society. The car went on display in 2007 as an interpretive center at the Minnequa Steel Works Office Building and Dispensary. (2007 photograph.) More information (PDF, 431 kb).
Colorado State Fairgrounds
1001 Beulah Avenue
State Register 11/30/2006, 5PE.5983
The fairgrounds have long been a gathering place for the state’s agricultural community and have also served as a vehicle to educate, promote and entertain the public about Colorado agriculture. Since 1901, farmers and stock men and women have come to the annual exposition at this location to display and compare their products, to see and learn about the latest advances in agricultural technology and techniques, and to purchase quality livestock. The 4-H club, a youth organization orientated toward agriculture education, has maintained a steady presence at the fairgrounds since 1918. The complex benefited from a number of Depression-era New Deal work-relief programs. The Federal Emergency Relief Administration and the Works Progress Administration helped fund and provide workers for the construction of six buildings, much of the perimeter walls, the extensive horse stables, and other infrastructure improvements. The fairgrounds also hosted a Civilian Conservation Corps camp. (1996 photograph.) More information (PDF, 2.34 MB).
Colorado State Hospital Superintendent’s House
13th & Francisco
National Register 9/26/1985, 5PE.527.2
Completed circa 1934, the two-story Mediterranean style residence has white stucco walls and a red tile roof. For 28 years it was the home of Dr. Frank Zimmerman, a pioneer in the humane treatment of the mentally ill who also fought for better salaries and facilities. (1995 photograph.)
Doyle Settlement / White House / Casa Blanca
Doyle Rd., 18 miles southeast of US Hwy. 50
National Register 4/10/1980, 5PE.391
Dating from circa 1859, Joseph Doyle’s settlement now lies in ruins. It was a self contained unit including a main residence, dining facility, store, housing for laborers, flour mill, blacksmith shop and granaries.
Nathaniel W. Duke House
1409 Craig St.
National Register 2/8/1985, 5PE.4204
This two-and-a-half-story brick Queen Anne residence was designed in 1889 by Denver architect Fred A. Hale. Its most notable feature, a large oversized three-story tower at the southeast corner of the home, affords one of the finest views of the city and mountains to the west.
900 W. Mesa
National Register 6/19/1985, 5PE.4215
A multi-purpose central building and two single classroom "unit school houses" were constructed in 1909. Two more "units" and a four classroom building were added in 1923. Edison School is noted for its experimental design which incorporated windows located near the ceiling on three sides of the classrooms in an attempt to provide uniform, diffused light and improved ventilation. Dr. R.W. Corwin, originator of the design, served on the local school board for 44 years.
Corner of 1st St. & Union Ave.
National Register 2/16/1996, 5PE.303
El Pueblo, occupied from 1842 to 1854, is important for its association with the exploration and settlement of what became Colorado and the larger Rocky Mountain West; for its association with commerce and trade, both in the local area and as part of a regional trail system; and for its association with the social history of the upper Arkansas River, a multi-ethnic, multi-cultural, and multi-national population. The archaeological site is part of the El Pueblo History Museum, a property of the Colorado Historical Society. (ca. 2000 photograph.)
Over Santa Fe Ave. at S. Elizabeth St.
State Register 2/4/1985, Boundary change 3/13/2002, 5PE.4230
Originally crossing the Purgatoire River in Las Animas County, in 1993, the 150-foot span faced demolition due to its deteriorating condition and low load capacity. Circa 1994, as part of the Colorado Department of Highway’s Adopt-a-Bridge program, the Pueblo Bridge Company’s 1905 pin-connected Pratt through truss structure was dismantled, transported, and subsequently reassembled for use as a pedestrian bridge along the Runyon Commuter Trail in Pueblo. (1994 photograph.)
First Congregational Church
228 W. Evans
National Register 2/8/1985, 5PE.4209
Fred A. Hale is credited as the architect of this 1889 Romanesque style church of random coursed red sandstone. Defining features include a corner entry bell tower and a circular transept with arched windows.
First Methodist Episcopal Church
310 W. 11th St.
National Register 4/16/2012, 5PE.2231
The First United Methodist Church of Pueblo (formerly First Methodist Episcopal) Church is eligible in the area of Architecture from 1924 to 1959 at the local level. In a combination of the Gothic Revival and Tudor Revival styles, architectural highlights include a tower, stained glass, stone tracery, pointed-arch windows, stucco, and false half-timbering. This design is the work of Pueblo architect William Stickney. The interior of the sanctuary, with its highly artistic decorative carvings, contributes to the property’s significance in the area of Art. Finally, the property is locally significant in the area of social history from 1924 to 1962 for its service to Pueblo citizens.
First Methodist Episcopal Church / Trinity Methodist
National Register 11/14/1979, 5PE.503
First Presbyterian Church
220 W. 9th St.
State Register 5/31/2007, 5PE.489
The First Presbyterian Church is an interesting local expression of the Gothic Revival style. Constructed in 1889, noted architect Fred A. Hale designed the unusual building combining two popular Late Victorian styles-Gothic Revival and Richardsonian Romanesque. The steeply pitched roof, prominent spire, and pointed-arched openings create a vertical emphasis and are all defining characteristics of Gothic architecture. At the same time, the building’s straight forward treatment of stone, the select distribution of openings, and the broad roof plane is reminiscent of Richardsonian Romanesque. A Gothic Revival inspired educational wing of red brick expanded the church eastward in 1926. The north side of the addition continued the Manitou sandstone of the original building. (2007 photograph.) More information (PDF, 1.79 MB).
401-11 W. 11th St.
National Register 10/2/1986, 5PE.4199
Constructed in 1902, as a speculative venture by Colonel Michael Fitch, the two-story brick building is Pueblo’s best example of a terrace apartment. Exterior detailing includes stone and brick corbelling and belt courses that emphasize the sense of horizontality.
R.T. Frazier House
2121 N. Elizabeth St.
National Register 6/19/1985, 5PE.4206
Built in 1915, the design for this tapestry brick bungalow may have been derived from the popular style books of the period. Frazier, a prominent saddle maker, spared no expense on his state of the art residence. (1984 photograph.)
501 Colorado Ave.
National Register 6/3/1982, 5PE.611
Completed in 1891 for a prominent Pueblo attorney, the building is a good example of a Late Victorian style residence constructed with high quality materials, both inside and out. (1981 photograph.)
1801 Greenwood St.
National Register 6/3/1982, 5PE.483
Built for Pueblo attorney Charles E. Gast in 1892, the residence is a harmonious mix of Richardsonian Romanesque and Queen Anne elements. Continuity of ownership has left it in unusually good condition.
Colo. Hwy. 96 W. & Siloam Rd., west of Pueblo
National Register 7/30/1974, 5PE.485
The barn is the only remaining structure from the Goodnight Ranch established by Charles Goodnight in 1869. It is constructed of rough cut limestone blocks and has a gable roof.
Hazelhurst / Berkley House
National Register 12/15/1978, 5PE.500
The 1895 residence was built for prominent Pueblo businessman Emanuel Tolle. It is a blend of the Queen Anne and Georgian Revival, the latter reflecting Tolle’s Kentucky origins.
Henkel-Duke Mercantile Company Warehouse
212-222 W. 3rd St.
National Register 5/17/1984, 5PE.580
Constructed in 1893, the four-story brick building is located in downtown Pueblo and functioned as a wholesale grocery warehouse for many years. (1996 photograph.)
Dr. Alexander T. King House & Carriage House
229 Quincy St. & 215 W. Routt Ave.
National Register 4/21/1983, 5PE.616
Built in 1891, the two and one half story, multi-gabled roof, red brick residence and the carriage house are good examples of the Queen Anne style. (1983 photograph.)
415 E. Abriendo Ave.
National Register 1/30/1992, 5PE.4217
The institution bears the name of its primary benefactor, prominent Pueblo businessman, Andrew McClelland. The present Colonial Revival style building was constructed in 1935, and the design incorporates Georgian and Adam elements.
Mechanics Building / Masonic Building
207-211 N. Main St.
National Register 6/16/1983, 5PE.556
Constructed in 1890, architect Francis Cooper’s five story Victorian commercial building has walls of processed brick and Fort Collins red sandstone. The building is an important local landmark in downtown Pueblo. (1981 photograph.)
Minnequa Steel Works Office Building & Dispensary Colorado Fuel & Iron Company
(Steelworks Museum of Industry and Culture)
215 and 225 Canal St.
State Register 8/8/2001, National Register 6/6/2002, 5PE.4179
The Mission Revival style buildings at the Colorado Fuel & Iron Company’s Minnequa Steel Works illustrate the growth of what became the largest single employer in the Pueblo region. They reflect the rapid improvements made to accommodate support services for the steel plant as it grew to become one of the largest iron and steel plants in the United States by 1906. Prominent Denver architect Frederick H. Sterner designed the original 1901 office building and 1902 dispensary. Pueblo architects continued the Mission style, with William Stickney designing the 1921 addition to the office building and Walter DeMordaunt the 1926 addition to the dispensary. The Bessemer Historical Society is working to rehabilitate the historic buildings for use in its interpretive program. (1999 photograph.)
Montgomery Ward Building
225 N. Main St.
National Register 12/24/1996, 5PE.557
The 1936 Montgomery Ward Building is the only Colorado example of the Montgomery Ward Company’s standard Georgian Revival corporate style used for its department stores from 1933 to 1948. The building represents the local manifestation of the firm’s transition from a mail-order business to a retail store chain. (1996 photograph.)
102 W. Orman Ave.
National Register 7/13/1976, 5PE.495
The 1890 Orman-Adams House, designed by prolific Denver architect William Lang, is an excellent example of the Romanesque Revival style. James B. Orman constructed the building and owned it during his term as Governor from 1901 to 1903. It was purchased in 1918 by Alva Adams and his family. Adams served as Colorado’s Governor on three separate occasions. His son, Alva B. Adams, was a United States Senator. (1998 photograph.)
Pitkin Place Historic District
South side of the 300 Block of W. Pitkin
National Register 1/31/1978, 5PE.490
In the early 1890s, the architect-contractor team of George Roe and E.W. Shutt built six of the seven residences within the district. Developed on land owned by the Colorado Fuel and Iron Company as an exclusive subdivision, Pitkin Place is a linear grouping of residential properties exhibiting a high degree of visual continuity. (1996 photograph.)
Frank Pryor House
1325 Greenwood St.
National Register 2/8/1985, 5PE.4203
Designed by prominent Denver architect A. Morris Stuckert, for noted Pueblo businessman Frank Pryor, this 1889 Queen Anne residence reflects the eclectic tastes of the late Victorian period.
Pueblo City Park Zoo
3455 Nuckolls Ave.
National Register 7/28/1995, 5PE.587
The 2½ acre zoo contains an assortment of buildings and structures constructed between 1933 and 1940, utilizing native calcium sandstone quarried 25 miles west of Pueblo. The zoo exemplifies the trend toward exhibiting animals in more natural settings. The Pueblo Zoo was constructed during the Great Depression through the efforts of three New Deal agencies: the Public Works Administration; Civil Works Administration; and the Works Progress Administration. (1998 photograph.)
Pueblo Colored Orphanage & Old Folks Home / Lincoln Home
2713-2715 N. Grand Ave.
State Register 12/10/1997, 5PE.571
Constructed between 1889 and 1904, the two houses were purchased in 1914 to serve as the Lincoln Home. In operation until 1963, Pueblo’s entire black community took an interest in the property’s management. It served as the only known orphanage of its type in Colorado, and the sixteen Federated Colored Women’s Clubs throughout the state supported its operation. (2004 photograph.)
Pueblo County Courthouse
10th & Main
National Register 6/27/1975, 5PE.492
Designed by New York architect Albert Ross, the brick building, faced with white sandstone, includes the Roman Classical elements associated with the Beaux-Arts tradition. Constructed between 1908-1912, it is the third building to serve as the county courthouse, and it is southern Colorado’s largest and most elaborate courthouse. (1996 photograph.)
Pueblo Federal Building / U.S. Post Office
421 N. Main St.
National Register 1/3/1978, 5PE.498
William Aiken, supervising architect for the U.S. Treasury Department, designed the 1897 Pueblo Federal Building along the lines of an Italian Renaissance Palazzo. Aiken designed numerous federal buildings for Washington, DC, and for other cities, including the U.S. Mints in Philadelphia and Denver. (1981 photograph.)
Quaker Flour Mill
102 S. Oneida St.
National Register 9/30/1976, 5PE.496
Over the years, the original four story sandstone building, constructed in 1869 as a four story structure for use as a flour mill, has experienced numerous alterations and additions to accommodate the business needs of subsequent owners.
Ward Rice House
1825 Grand Ave.
National Register 11/7/1985, 5PE.4207
Designed by architect F.W. Cooper, the 1892 house was modified during the early 1900s. The brick and wood shingled residence is a well preserved example of the Queen Anne style.
Rio Grande Freight House (Southern Colorado Heritage Center)
223 & 301 W. B St.
State Register 6/10/1998, 5PE.1519
Constructed in 1924, the red brick building serves as a reminder of the important role played by railroads in the growth and development of Pueblo. The facility handled commercial shipments and provided temporary warehousing for goods in transit. It is Pueblo’s only surviving freight station. (2004 photograph.)
Rood Candy Company Building
408-416 W. 7th St.
National Register 5/17/1984, 5PE.618
The facility is a good local example of an early 20th century manufacturing facility. The main building is a three-story red brick structure characterized by its lack of ornamentation. (ca. 2000 photograph.)
Rosemont / Thatcher Mansion (Rosemont Museum)
419 W. 14th St.
National Register 7/30/1974, 5PE.491
Designed by the New York based architectural firm of Holly and Jelliff, the three-story, rose lava stone over brick, mansion contains thirty-seven rooms and ten fireplaces. Built between 1891 and 1893, it is a good example of Victorian era urban residential architecture. The mansion is open to the public as a museum. (1996 photograph.)
Sacred Heart Cathedral
1025 N. Grand Ave.
National Register 2/21/1989, 5PE.1125
The building is an outstanding example of Gothic Revival architecture. Plans for the church were the work of Denver architects Robert Willison and Montana S. Fallis. The church was dedicated in 1913 and designated as a cathedral in 1942. (1988 photograph.)
Sacred Heart Orphanage
2316 Sprague St.
National Register 3/3/1989, 5PE.569
Captain John J. Lambert, editor and publisher of the Pueblo Daily Chieftain, bought and donated a ten acre site to the Franciscan Sisters for the purpose of establishing an orphanage. The orphanage, Pueblo’s largest, opened in 1903. Large and institutional in overall appearance, this Romanesque Revival building displays superior craftsmanship in its detailing.
St. Charles Bridge (PUCO 0.16-407B)
County Rd. 65
National Register 2/4/1985, 5PE.301
Completed by the Salle Construction Company of Pueblo in 1924, the excavation for its foundations involved the use of a reinforced concrete vault system which was later patented by the contractors. It is one of the longest span, filled arches still in use in Colorado. Associated property with the Highway Bridges in Colorado Multiple Property Submission. (2003 photograph.)
St. John’s Greek Orthodox Church
1000-1010 Spruce St.
National Register 2/28/2002, 5PE.4219
The 1907 church building is one of Pueblo’s earliest and well-preserved examples of the Classical Revival style. The building exhibits the distinctive characteristics of the style in its full-width pedimented portico supported by large Ionic columns. The semi-circular transom and round-arched window openings with Queen Anne-inspired glazing result in an unusual expression of this style.
Santa Fe Avenue Bridge
US Business Hwy. 50
National Register 10/15/2002, 5PE.3938
The 1924 steel rigid connected Pennsylvania through truss structure’s single span runs for 280 feet. It was designed for the Colorado Department of Highways by H.S. Crocker, fabricated by Virginia Bridge & Iron Company, and built by Pueblo Bridge & Construction Company. Never commonly used in Colorado, Pennsylvania trusses represented a refinement of the standard Pratt truss, both of which were pioneered by the railroads and later constructed to carry vehicular traffic. An urban bridge crossing the Arkansas River in Pueblo, it is the oldest and longest of its type remaining in Colorado. Associated property with the Highway Bridges in Colorado Multiple Property Submission. (2000 photograph.)
Santa Fe Locomotive No. 2912
B St. & Victoria Ave.
State Register 9/13/1995, 5PE.612.44
Built in 1944, Locomotive No. 2912 is a rare surviving example of the final class of steam powered locomotives to be ordered by the Santa Fe Railroad. The 2900-series engines were both the largest and heaviest Northern-type locomotives built in the United States. (ca. 1999 photograph.)
Star Journal Model Home
2920 High St.
National Register 2/16/1984, 5PE.4216
Although many artisans contributed to the project, architect Walter DeMordaunt determined the English country style for the gabled roof, one and a half story brick and sandstone residence. Completed in early 1927, the highly publicized "model" home blended aspects of "convenient living" with cost considerations and served as a showcase for the residential architectural values of the years prior to the Great Depression.
Charles H. Stickney House
101 E. Orman Ave.
National Register 2/8/1985, 5PE.4210
Completed in 1890, New York architect William Halsey Ward’s design integrated massive Norman elements into this two and a half story red sandstone residence constructed for Stickney, an important figure in the economic development of Pueblo.
J.L. Streit House
2201 N. Grand Ave.
National Register 9/20/1984, 5PE.4208
The late 19th century Victorian residence, distinguished primarily by its tower, was designed by architect P.P. Mills. It was built in 1888 by the Dundee Investment Company within a subdivision being developed by the company. (1991 photograph.)
1325 N. Grand Ave.
National Register 3/14/1996, 5PE.4202
This 1900 Reform Jewish house of worship is architecturally significant as an interesting interpretation of the Queen Anne style employing both classical and Richardsonian Romanesque elements.
38 Carlile Place
National Register 11/7/1985, 5PE.4213
Built in 1891, the residence was designed by architect O. Bulow. The two-story brick building is heavily ornamented and incorporates many features associated with the Queen Anne style.
421 Central Plaza
National Register 8/18/1983, 5PE.585
Erected in 1890, the building is one of the most intact commercial structures in the downtown area. This unusual triangular building’s twelve-inch thick walls are faced with red brick. (1998 photograph.)
Union Avenue Historic Commercial District
Main St., Grand, & Victoria Aves.
National Register 12/28/1982, 5PE.612
The district consists of a group of commercial structures located south of Pueblo’s central business district. Of the total 87 properties, 70 contribute to the historic and architectural importance of the district. The area developed quickly following the platting of South Pueblo in 1872, with the first brick buildings appearing in the early 1880s. Originally a wholesale and warehouse district associated with the Denver and Rio Grande Railroad, Union Avenue experienced a major flooding of the Arkansas River in June 1921.
Victoria & B Sts.
National Register 4/1/1975, 5PE.494
The circa 1890 Richardsonian Romanesque Revival style depot was designed by the Chicago architectural firm of Sprague and Newell. It is constructed of heavy rock faced red sandstone. An imposing structure, the depot was one of the largest and busiest in the region. Associated property with the Railroads in Colorado, 1858-1948 Multiple Property Submission. (1996 photograph.)
217 S. Grand
National Register 12/18/1978, 5PE.501
The 1910 Vail Hotel is a fine example of the Second Renaissance Revival style. Named for John E. Vail, a prominent Pueblo newspaperman, it was considered by many to be the most modern hotel west of Chicago. (1996 photograph.)
Martin Walter House
300 W. Abriendo Ave.
National Register 5/17/1984, 5PE.4212
This circa 1906 blond brick two-story mansion is one of the largest and most elaborately detailed Foursquares in Pueblo. It was built for Martin Walter, founder and president of the Walter Brewing Company.
Asbury White House
415 W. 11th St.
National Register 10/11/1984, 5PE.4200
Built in 1891 in the Queen Anne style as interpreted by architect F.W. Cooper, the residence is one of the last remnants of a once prestigious residential neighborhood located just west of the Pueblo County Courthouse. (1981 photograph.)
801 N. Santa Fe Ave.
National Register 3/24/1980, 5PE.504
Architect Walter DeMordaunt designed this multi-level, L-shaped building in the Mediterranean style. Built in 1935, the fourteen inch thick brick walls are stuccoed, and the gabled portions of the roof are covered with red tile. In 1945, in cooperation with the American Red Cross, United Services Organization and other agencies, the Pueblo Young Women’s Christian Association placed special emphasis on seeking out and training American war brides left behind after the conflict. (1996 photograph.)
Alma Community Church
184 N. Main St.
State Register 12/11/1996, 5PA.438
The 1936 Alma Community Church is significant for its role in the social history of the community. It is a well-preserved and unaltered example of the Rustic style. Construction was primarily a volunteer effort, and the building still remains available for community use.
59 E. Buckskin St.
State Register 12/11/1996, 5PA.871
The 1925 Alma School, a rare local example of the Mission style, is significant as a symbol of the importance of education to the area’s residents and the involvement of the Public Works Administration in the funding of additions, designed by Frank Frewen, to the building in 1936. (ca. 1990 photograph.)
Alma vicinity, address restricted
National Register 8/6/2013, 5PA.4706
The Paris Mill is significant in the area of industry, engineering and architecture, from 1895 when it first opened, to 1937, when mill operations ceased. The facility was instrumental in the success of the greater Paris Mine, a major gold producer important to western Park County. In providing ore treatment, and hence reducing freight and smelting costs, the mill allowed a succession of mine operators to produce higher volumes of complex ore over longer periods of time than was otherwise economically possible. The mill exemplifies a gold cyanidation and flotation concentration facility as defined in the Mining Industry in Colorado Multiple Property Documentation Form.
43 County Rd. 68 (McGraw Memorial Park)
State Register 5/13/1992, 5PA.31
A good example of pioneer log construction, the 1864 cabin was built with v-notched, hand hewn squared logs. Associated with early Bailey settlers Elizabeth Entriken and her brother, the well known Father John Dyer, it is the only surviving building from the original town of Bailey. It was moved to McGraw park in 1973.
Estabrook Historic District
Bailey vicinity, bounded by Estabrook, Platte Canyon, Rivercliff, & Rivercliff Ranch
National Register 10/20/1980, 5PA.61
The district consists of a variety of structures including a stone lodge, several ranch related buildings, a depot, and a small railroad bridge. The district is associated with the Denver South Park & Pacific Railroad and its influence on the early development of tourism in the area. The Rustic style buildings within the district display a high level of craftsmanship. (1979 photograph.)
Off US Hwy. 285
National Register 1/18/1985, 5PA.32
The 1901 Rustic style resort hotel was constructed as a result of an increase in the promotion of tourism by real estate and railroad interests. The two and one half story log and shingled building’s most distinctive feature is the three-story round tower, with a conical roof, found at its northwest corner. (ca. 1919 photograph.)
Boreas Railroad Station Site
Boreas Pass Rd., Pike National Forest, northwest of Como
National Register 10/28/1993, 5PA.585/5ST.494
The site, located at an elevation of 11,498 feet, was a key element of the Denver South Park & Pacific Railroad’s route that ran from Como to Breckenridge and then on to Leadville. The narrow gauge line was completed in 1883. The station was a major hub both during construction of the route and during its period of operation from 1882 to 1937. The most prominent surviving structure is the one and one half story log section. (1998 photograph.)
Como Roundhouse, Railroad Depot & Hotel Complex
Off US Hwy. 285
National Register 5/20/1983, 5PA.30
The site contains the six-stall stone roundhouse, the I-plan two-story brick hotel, and the one-story frame depot. The roundhouse and depot date to circa 1880 and the hotel to 1897. The complex served the Denver, South Park and Pacific Railroad which was originally built west from Denver to tap the area’s coal deposits. The complex remained a busy railroad division point after the completion of the DSP&P high line over Boreas Pass to Leadville in 1884. Rail operations at Como ceased in 1938. Listed under Railroads in Colorado, 1858-1948 Multiple Property Submission. (1996 photograph.)
National Register 6/30/2000, 5PA.1223
Como School operated from the 1883 construction of the original, wood frame grade school building through 1948, the last year of its use as a public educational facility. In addition to the hipped roof grade school, there is a small gabled roof building that was moved to the school grounds during the early 1930s to serve as a high school. The complex also includes two outhouses and a small storage shed. After closing as a school, the property was acquired by the Como Civic Association, and it remains in use as a community center. Listed under Rural School Buildings in Colorado Multiple Property Submission. (1998 photograph.)
639 Hathaway St.
State Register 12/8/1999, 5PA.58
The building represents, both physically and intellectually, the growth and evolution of public education in the South Park area of Park County. The original Italianate style portion was constructed in 1881, and it has remained in use as a public educational facility ever since. The 1934 Moderne style gymnasium/classroom addition, partially funded by the Public Works Administration, was designed by prominent Denver architect Frank Frewen Jr. Subsequent additions were constructed in 1947 and 1985. (ca. 2001 photograph.)
500 Main St.
National Register 1/16/2008, 5PA.57
The 1922 Fairplay Hotel is the largest and longest lived hotel in town. The hotel has provided accommodations and meals for travelers, tourists, sportsmen, workers, and the local community to the present day. With ample public rooms and a central location (Fairplay is the county seat), the Fairplay Hotel has hosted a variety of meetings and functions such as dances and wedding receptions, as well as fraternal, livestock, and other local organizations. The hotel is as a well-preserved example of the Rustic style, popular for tourist lodges and hotels in the mountain towns of Colorado during the early 20th century. With its clipped gable roof, false thatch, bracketed overhanging eaves, battered stone porch piers, and river rock foundation, the building reflects Arts and Crafts features prominent in this style. The work of master architect William N. Bowman, this is his only known work done in the Rustic style. Other buildings credited to him include the National Register-listed Mountain States Telephone and Telegraph Building in downtown Denver and the Weld County Courthouse in Greeley. (ca. 1930's photograph.) More information (PDF, 1.15 MB).
Park County Court House
National Register 5/25/1979, 5PA.25
Located in Court House Square, this two-story red sandstone building has a raised basement and was constructed in 1874. (2002 photograph.)
South Park City Museum
100 4th St.
National Register 11/5/2014, 5PA.394
The South Park City Museum is an intact mid-twentieth century outdoor museum interpreting a frontier mining community, significant for its association with Park County tourism, the Rush to the Rockies gold-discovery centennial celebration of 1958, and early historic preservation efforts in Park County. During Colorado’s Gold Rush mining towns were scattered across Park County, but by mid-twentieth century these ghost towns were rapidly disappearing, victims of vandalism, fire, and the natural elements. Leon Snyder (1892-1973), a Colorado Springs lawyer, worked with local residents to preserve Park County’s mining heritage by creating an outdoor museum. The goal was to create an authentic replica of a nineteenth century Colorado mining town, using historic buildings from Park County. Although moving historic buildings is discouraged by today’s standards, the Museum represents earlier efforts to preserve these frontier-era resources. More information (PDF, 2.47 MB).
South Park Community Church / Jackson Memorial Chapel
6th & Hathaway
National Register 11/22/1977, 5PA.26
Constructed in 1874, the small white painted, board and batten church is an excellent, well preserved example of the Carpenter Gothic style. It includes lancet windows, extensive wood trim, and an intricately detailed bell tower. The congregation was organized by Sheldon Jackson, a Presbyterian missionary who was active throughout the Colorado frontier. (1996 photograph.)
South Park Lager Beer Brewery
3rd & Front Sts.
National Register 6/25/1974, 5PA.24
Constructed by Leonard Summer in the mid-1870s, the primarily stone two-story building was associated with the Summer Saloon. Since such local saloon owners usually imported their stock from Denver, the brewery represents a somewhat unusual undertaking in a small mining community.
3rd & Front Sts.
National Register 5/8/1974, 5PA.27
Built in 1879 by Leonard Summer, adjacent his brewery operation, the one-story building is of red sandstone quarried near Red Hill Pass. On its facade, the stone rises high above the flat roof, resulting in the "falsefront" appearance typically associated with wood frame commercial buildings of the period. (2001 photograph.)
Trout Creek / Annex / Settele Ranch
3242 Park County Rd. 7, Fairplay vicinity
National Register 4/29/2008, 5PA.3253
The ranch is closely associated with the history of agriculture in the South Park area of Park County. The buildings and structures at the ranch represent the variety of agricultural functions and construction techniques from 130 years of cattle, sheep, and hay ranching. The headquarters buildings typify functional, unadorned wood-frame and log construction techniques using locally available materials of the early 20th century. The overall landscape and setting include large open pasturelands, a railroad grade, and historic irrigation ditches. A brief effort to tap into the South Park region’s petroleum potential resulted in an attempt to drill a well on the ranch in 1904-05. The remnants of the oil derrick remain, showing the early 20th century technology, practices, and equipment employed. The property is associated with the Historic Ranching Resources of South Park, Colorado Multiple Property Submission. (2007 photograph.) More information (PDF, 2.45 MB).
County Rd. 59, Hartsel vicinity
National Register 1/28/2000, 5PA.1225
James B. Putnam homesteaded the ranch’s original 160 acres in 1881. When purchased by the Buckley family in 1908, the cattle ranch spread across more than 2,500 acres. During the 1920s, sheep replaced cattle as the primary focus of ranching in the South Park area, and the production of hay also played an important role in the successful operation of the ranch. The 6.4 acre historic district encompasses the former ranch headquarters area and includes numerous ranch-related buildings and structures of log or wood frame construction. Members of the Buckley family continued to operate the ranch until 1949. In 1986, the Colorado Division of Wildlife purchased the property, and it is now utilized for recreational activities associated with Spinney Mountain State Park. Listed under Historic Ranching Resources of South Park, Colorado Multiple Property Submission. (1998 photograph.)
Colorado Salt Works
3858 US Hwy. 285, Hartsel vicinity
National Register 2/1/2001, 5PA.1478
Developed by Charles L. Hall, the Colorado Salt Works was the only salt production facility of its kind constructed in Colorado. Located on a 33-acre site adjacent the Salt Works Ranch agricultural district, the intact wood frame barn and the partially collapsed kettle house, a large two-story L-shaped building, serve as visual reminders of one of Colorado’s earliest industrial enterprises. Drawing from surrounding salt springs, the facility operated from 1866 to circa 1870, when the arrival of the railroads lessened the value of producing salt locally. Preliminary research indicates it may well be the only surviving example of an 1860s kettle and pan salt production facility in the United States. (2000 photograph.)
Em Ranch (Santa Maria Ranch)
County Rd. 439, Hartsel vicinity
National Register 10/15/2002, 5PA.1539
The agricultural history associated with the EM Ranch extends from 1874 through 1948, encompassing the original homesteading by Hardy Epperson, Aldophus Feringer’s assemblage of the large land holdings, the subsequent extensive sheep raising operations of the Chalmers and Galloway partnership, and the economic decline of the Depression years that culminated in the Ownbey family’s ownership of the property. Numerous buildings remain intact within the headquarters complex located in the southwestern portion of the 2,320 acre property. Listed under Historic Ranching Resources of South Park, Colorado Multiple Property Submission. (2000 photograph.)
Salt Works Ranch
3858 US Hwy. 285, Hartsel vicinity
National Register 2/2/2001, 5PA.346
The Salt Works Ranch agricultural district encompasses 128 acres and includes the original homestead site settled by Charles L. Hall in 1862. A wide variety of primarily log and wood frame buildings and structures typical of a successful large-scale ranching operation remain on the site. Of particular interest is the Second Empire style main house which dates from the early 1870s. The property is also important for its association with Thomas McQuaid, a son-in-law of Hall, who played an active leadership role among Colorado ranchers. McQuaid oversaw operation of the ranch from 1911 until his death in 1965. During his tenure, the ranching operation expanded to cover more than 87,000 acres. This still working ranch was recognized as a Colorado Centennial Farm. Listed under Historic Ranching Resources of South Park, Colorado Multiple Property Submission. (2001 photograph.)
Three Mile Gulch Prehistoric Archaeological District
Location restricted, Hartsel vicinity
National Register 9/13/2011, 5PA.4455
The Three Mile Gulch Prehistoric Archaeological District is significant for industry and prehistoric archaeology, exploration/settlement, and social history. The landscape of the district is able to visibly convey a unique manifestation of petrified wood quarrying, lithic reduction, and use of Archaic Period peoples in the South Park region. Threemile Gulch can be envisioned as a lithic landscape, a land surface that is virtually draped in lithic materials and that records consistent extraction and use of petrified wood across millennia, particularly during the Archaic.
Jefferson Denver South Park & Pacific Railroad Depot
US Hwy. 285 at County Rd. 35
National Register 12/31/1998, 5PA.81
The circa 1880 depot, with Stick style architectural detailing, is a small well-preserved example of a wood frame combination depot. Designed to handle passengers and freight, it remained in active use until 1937. The depot is one of only a few intact historic resources surviving from the DSP&P Railroad’s narrow gauge rail network that extended from Denver into Colorado’s rich mining regions during the late 19th and early 20th centuries. Listed under Railroads in Colorado, 1858-1948 Multiple Property Submission. (1998 photograph.)
Kenosha Pass Railroad Station
Off US Hwy. 285, Jefferson vicinity
State Register 3/12/1997, 5PA.80
The circa 1879 Kenosha Pass Railroad Station site is important for its association with the Denver, South Park & Pacific Railroad’s crossing of Kenosha Pass. The wye at the site facilitated the movement of railroad stock awaiting repairs. Rail service over the line was discontinued in 1938. (1996 photograph.)
US Hwy. 285 & Lost Park Rd., Jefferson vicinity
National Register 10/12/2000, 5PA.1412
The ranch complex is located at the western foot of Kenosha Pass. Construction dates for the wide variety of log and wood frame buildings and structures remaining on the property range from 1883 to 1948. The 116 acre district encompasses most of the land originally homesteaded by Thomas Hyatt in 1883. Subsequently, this area functioned as the headquarters for the more than 1,100 acre ranching operation of William H. Lilly. Cattle raising remained the focus of operations even after many other South Park ranchers switched to raising sheep. The Wahl family’s association with the ranch dates from the mid-1920s through the deaths of Albert and Ada Wahl in 1993. Listed under Historic Ranching Resources of South Park, Colorado Multiple Property Submission.
410 Park County Rd. 90, Lake George vicinity
State Register 3/8/1995, 5PA.742
The complex contains a collection of ranch buildings dating to 1925 associated with the development of ranching activities in the Wilkerson Pass area. Built largely of native materials, the ranch is typical of the area and period.
37026 County Rd. 77, Lake George vicinity
State Register 3/8/1995, 5PA.743
Begun in 1916, the complex is associated with the development of ranching activities along the county’s Tarryall Corridor. Built largely of native logs, it is representative of a ranching complex of the period. (1994 photograph.)
Staunton Ranch Rural Historic Landscape
Upper Ranch Road, Pine vicinity
National Register 12/4/2012, 5PA.4525/5JF.4385
The 1918 Staunton Ranch is a good representation of an early twentieth century entertainment and recreation mountain resort with Rustic style cabins. Character-defining features on the cabins include unpeeled, half-round, log siding, large stone chimneys, stone foundations, multi-paned windows and stone landscape features. Vertically oriented logs with diagonal patterns accent the cabins. In addition to hosting summer camps for various organizations including the Girl Scouts, the property contained a sawmill and logging operation, the only one of its kind in the area.
Ben Tyler Ranch
54166 US Hwy. 285
State Register 6/12/1996, 5PA.709
The property is associated with the early settlement of the Platte Canyon area of northern Park County. The main house is on a parcel of land purchased by Ben Tyler in 1884. The adjacent land, on which the homestead shanty and the other buildings are located, was part of the patent Tyler filed in 1898. (1988 photograph.)
Shawnee Historic District
National Register 7/8/2010, 5PA.4177
The Shawnee Historic District is locally significant for its historic association with transportation, entertainment/recreation, and community planning and development. Included in this historic district is a small cemetery. The town of Shawnee played a significant role in the history of Colorado. The community is associated with the history of transportation in the Rocky Mountain region, sitting along the route of the Denver, South Park and Pacific Railway construction line, later the Colorado and Southern Railway. In addition to facilitating local timber and ice industries, the railroad also enabled the town's growth as a recreational community. From its founding, Shawnee was significant as the site of summer and tourist facilities, including a large lodge and hotel in addition to the many private seasonal homes, some of which remain seasonal today. The town is further significant as a site for its early Post Office; numerous early homes and settlers; rail stop for both passengers and freight, including ice, timber, livestock and hay; and as a day-trip for recreation along the South Platte River. (2006 photograph, Fairview Hotel.)
Section 106 of the National Historic Preservation Act requires Federal agencies to take historic properties into account in all projects in which agencies are involved. The Act requires agencies to initiate consultation not only with the state historic preservation officer [SHPO] but also with tribal representatives, local groups and governmental entities. In its simplest form, an agency is required to identify and evaluate the National Register eligibility of cultural resources within the area affected by a project; determine how a project will affect eligible or listed properties; and seek alternatives to avoid, minimize and mitigate effects to such properties. The role of the SHPO is to advise and comment upon an agency’s determinations at each stage of this process. The SHPO does not have the authority to stop a project, but it is entitled to obtain from agencies sufficient information upon which to comment.
The SHPO has a maximum of 30 calendar days to respond to most types of reviews. However, staff endeavors to respond within two weeks.
Three OAHP staff spend most or part of their time reviewing between 2000 and 3000 projects a year in consultation with staff archaeologists, historians and architectural historians. Projects range from U.S. Army Corps of Engineers 404 permit file searches to cultural resource survey reports with inventory forms, architectural drawings to NEPA (National Environmental Policy Act) documents, cultural resource management plans to regulations revisions and one-page project descriptions to complex multiparty agreements.
Prevent someone from demolishing a historic building?
We will need the following information in order to provide you with the most accurate advice:
What is the name, if known, and address of the building?
How old is the building?
Is there federal or state agency involvement?
Is the building locally landmarked?
The State Register of Historic Places Act or a local landmark ordinance may provide some level of historic property protection or consideration when there is no federal involvement.