Press Release

Thirty-one Centennial Farms & Ranches to be recognized by Colorado Department of Agriculture and History Colorado

DENVER, Colo. (August 2, 2018)━Thirty-one Colorado families that have owned and operated their farms and ranches for 100 years or more will be honored at the 32nd annual Centennial Farms & Ranches ceremony on Friday, August 24 at 1 p.m. at the Colorado State Fair in Pueblo.

These families represent Colorado’s proud agricultural heritage, persevering through over 100 years of changes and challenges. Agriculture remains a vital part of our state’s identity, contributing $41 billion to Colorado’s economy.

The families will receive certificates signed by Governor John Hickenlooper, Colorado Commissioner of Agriculture Don Brown, and Executive Director of History Colorado Steve W. Turner. They will also receive Centennial Farm & Ranch signs to proudly display on their properties.

Since 1986, the Colorado Department of Agriculture, the Colorado State Fair, and History Colorado have partnered to honor our state’s agricultural heritage with the Centennial Farms & Ranches program.

When this year’s ceremony is complete, the State of Colorado will have recognized 581 Centennial Farms and Ranches.

This year’s Centennial Farms and Ranches:

Ashcraft Farm & Ranch—1906
Matheson, Elbert County

Bieser Family Ranch—1904
Mesa, Mesa County

Bond Metz Farms, Inc.—1917
Monte Vista, Rio Grande County

Chesnut Farms, LLC—1918
Kersey, Weld County

Cottonwood Farms—1913
Weldona, Morgan County

Dale J. and Denice Seufer Farm—1918
Prowers County

Dracon Family Farm—1915
Julesburg, Sedgwick County

Frank Greenlee Farm—1916
Cortez, Montezuma County

Gebauer Farms—1907
Akron, Washington County

Gergen Farms, LLC—1913
Burlington, Kit Carson County

Gillham’s Rim Ranch—1917
Peetz, Logan County

The Gray Farm—1915
Cheyenne County

Hamilton Feed and Livestock—1917
Yoder, El Paso County

Harold G. Vickerman Ranch—1917
Westcliffe, Custer County

James P. Brophy Homeplace, LLLP—1918
Eckley, Yuma County

Koberstein Farm—1917
Phillips County

Koch Farms & Ranch, Inc.—1917
Haxtun, Phillips County

Koppenhafer Ranch—1918
Cortez, Montezuma County

Kravig Homestead Farm—1910
Karval, Lincoln County

Longacre Ranch—1918
Fort Morgan, Morgan County

Lusch-Merwald Family Farm—1917
Logan County

Oestman Farm and Ranch—1916
Wray, Yuma County

Amherst, Phillips County

The R.M. Haythorn Farm—1900
Eaton, Weld County

Schaal Cattle Co.—1918
Burlington, Kit Carson County

Smith Ranch—1887
Lake George, Park County

Sporleder Ranch—1915
Walsenburg, Huerfano / Las Animas Counties

Vigil Farms—1876
Capulin, Conejos County

Wailes Farm—1918
Arapahoe County

The Whitney Place—1918
Haxton, Logan County

Windy Ridge Land, LLC—1918
Lamar, Prowers

The ceremony is open to the public and takes place at the Colorado State Fair in Pueblo at 1 p.m at the WeatherPort Tent on Friday, August 24.