Dem

Event Series

This Is What Democracy Looks Like Speaker Series

Revealing how democracy rises and falls in our communities, this series aims to cut through the tumult and focus our attention on the fundamental questions of government for all.

Lectures will be offered digitally and in person following COVID-19 regulations (September will be digital only). If it becomes necessary to switch to a digital-only format, we will notify you as the lecture date approaches. The ticket price will remain the same for digital or in person experiences. 

Full list of lectures:

Benjamin Waddell: The Electoral College & Democracy
Thursday, August 20, 2020
1:00-2:00pm & 7:00-8:00pm

Astra Taylor: So, Just What Is a Democracy Anyway?
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
7:00-8:00pm

Richard Bell: Hamilton, the Founders, and Democracy
Thursday, October 1, 2020 
1:00-2:00pm & 7:00-8:00pm

Juston Cooper: Justice & Democracy
Thursday, November 19, 2020
1:00-2:00pm & 7:00-8:00pm

Anthony Grimes: What Does Democracy Look Like?
Thursday, January 14, 2021
7:00-8:00pm

Gale Norton: Federalism & Democracy
Wednesday, February 10, 2021
7:00-8:00pm

Maeve Conran & David Barsamian: Media & Democracy
Wednesday, March 24, 2021    
7:00-8:00pm

Garrett Reppenhaggen: Democracy & War
Thursday, April 22, 2021
1:00-2:00pm & 7:00-8:00pm

Gregg Deal: Art and Democracy
Wednesday, May 12, 2021
1:00-2:00pm & 7:00-8:00pm

Amanda Henderson: Faith and Democracy
Thursday, June 10, 2021
7:00-8:00pm

Upcoming Events

Thu, Aug 20 , Thu, Aug 20

Tue, Sep 15

Thu, Oct 1 , Thu, Oct 1

Thu, Nov 19 , Thu, Nov 19

Tickets