Certified Local Governments

Colorado currently has 127 local governments with preservation ordinances; 67 of these are Certified Local Governments (CLGs). See a map of Colorado CLGs!

Certified Local Governments are counties or municipalities that have been endorsed by the State Historic Preservation Office (History Colorado) and the National Park Service to participate in the national preservation program while maintaining standards consistent with the National Historic Preservation Act and the Secretary of the Interior’s Standards for Archaeology and Historic Preservation.

National Park Service