A collection of 214 teacher register and grade books spanning 1920 to 1961 from the Lyons schools. What was recorded changed over the years but included combinations of the following:
- Student names, birth dates, grade, and attendance
- Parent names and occupations
- Who withdrew from school and why
- Teacher names, grade(s) taught, educational training, experience, and pay
- Curriculum taught, textbooks used, and books read
- Information about the school building and facilities
- Teacher notes related to programs, events, and visitors to the class
In 1880, Edward Lyon came to the valley formed by the North and South St. Vrain Rivers. As ranching and quarrying increased, families arrived. Recognizing the need to educate children, in 1881 Lyon organized the community to construct a one-room schoolhouse. Built from Lyons sandstone, 40 students enrolled in September 1882. As enrollment increased, the building was expanded in 1895, and 1902, and operated 94 years. Saved from demolition, it now houses the Lyons Redstone Museum, serving as a reminder of the importance of education to Lyons’ early settlers and as a teaching tool for Lyons Elementary School next door.
The Lyons school building was one of the first major structures built in the newly 1881 platted town of Lyons. The 214 class registers and grade books bring the building to life. They provide a wealth of information about the Lyons schools and community from 1920-1961. In addition to student, parent, and teacher information the books give the museum the ability to track class sizes, gender demographics, school year calendars, and changes in curriculum over time. Together with photographs and newspaper articles from the museum’s collection, these provide valuable material for research, as well as, appeal to museum visitors.
Lyons Historical Society
340 High St
Lyons, CO 80540